You no longer follow Allison

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Allison

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Allison

Fort Collins, CO, United States | Member Since 2011

14
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 165 ratings
  • 386 titles in library
  • 7 purchased in 2015
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Yard

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 42 mins)
    • By Alex Grecian
    • Narrated By Toby Leonard Moore
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (769)
    Performance
    (673)
    Story
    (673)

    Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley.

    Debra says: "Enjoyable annoying book"
    "Okay, but not great"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    As a fan of historical fiction I expected to like this book a lot more. All the pieces are there but they never quite joined up into a suspenseful tale. I spoil nothing by saying the killer was revealed way too early in the book and was so stupid that I actually was a bit embarrassed it took so long to catch him. The book also suffered from an over abundance of side plots and too much ultimately pointless “forensic science.” Only the likability of main characters kept it uneasily afloat. I think I will go read The Alienist by Carr again to remind myself of how this book could have been done the right way.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Garth Nix
    • Narrated By Graeme Malcolm
    Overall
    (201)
    Performance
    (185)
    Story
    (183)

    Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

    Ethan M. says: "Return to the Old Kingdom in an inverted YA novel"
    "So disappointed"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Let me preface this by saying that I loved the Abhorsen trilogy, and for their sake I really wanted to like this book. Honestly that love was the only reason I even listened through to the end of this dreary, disheartening, disaster of a book.
    Imagine, if you will, watching someone walk down a hall toward a guy with an ax, pause at every doorway, whine about wanting to live in the forest, then keep walking down the same hall to the ax. Now imagine watching that for nearly twelve hours surrounded by people you hate. Yup, that is listening to this book.
    Clariel spends the whole book telling anyone who will listen that she doesn't like them, then inexplicable she does exactly want they tell her to do. Why?! Especially seeing as every other character in the book is a duty shirking narcissist or a scheming, power hungry jerk. All building up to a conclusion that even the main character admits was forgone.
    The only thing I can't fault is the narrator. Tim Curry he was not, but judged on his own merits he did a good job.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Slow Regard of Silent Things: Kingkiller Chronicle, Book 2.5

    • UNABRIDGED (3 hrs and 39 mins)
    • By Patrick Rothfuss
    • Narrated By Patrick Rothfuss
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1205)
    Performance
    (1110)
    Story
    (1118)

    Deep below the University, there is a dark place. Few people know of it: a broken web of ancient passageways and abandoned rooms. A young woman lives there, tucked among the sprawling tunnels of the Underthing, snug in the heart of this forgotten place. Her name is Auri, and she is full of mysteries. The Slow Regard of Silent Things is a brief, bittersweet glimpse of Auri’s life, a small adventure all her own. At once joyous and haunting, this story offers a chance to see the world through Auri’s eyes. And it gives the reader a chance to learn things that only Auri knows.... In this book, Patrick Rothfuss brings us into the world of one of The Kingkiller Chronicle’s most enigmatic characters. Full of secrets and mysteries, The Slow Regard of Silent Things is the story of a broken girl trying to live in a broken world.

    Josh says: "But No...."
    "A Deep Enjoyment of Character Building"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This is a story for those who have read the first two book multiple times, those who have pondered the little questions and teased out the hints for where the story will go next. Do you wonder who Kvothe's mother really was? Do you debate who the Princess Kvothe saves is? Does the Lackless box keep you up at night? If so, this story has a lot to offer in the way of small hints about Auri's past and subtle foreshadowing.
    Plus Auri is just charming! She is a straight forward and pure soul and a great balance to Kvothe's suspicious and dark soul. I did not at all mind spending part of a span with her as she lived her everyday life. No dragons were slain, no maidens were rescued, but I felt every bit as involved in her quest to find the brazen brass gear a home as I would have it she was taking a ring to Mordor. I wondered to the very end just what she would find for his gift and I was never let down. If the author had not made such a point of the lack of traditional plot and dialog I never would have noticed.
    This is a story that stands as a tribute to just how deep and intricate a world Mr. Rothfuss has built and just how well you can know his characters.
    I truly enjoyed it.

    4 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Rose Daughter

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Robin McKinley
    • Narrated By Bianca Amato
    Overall
    (75)
    Performance
    (70)
    Story
    (69)

    "It is the heart of this place, and it is dying," says the Beast. And it is true; the center of the Beast's palace, the glittering glasshouse that brings Beauty both comfort and delight in her strange new environment, is filled with leafless brown rosebushes. But deep within this enchanted world, new life, at once subtle and strong, is about to awaken. Twenty years ago Robin McKinley enthralled listeners with the power of Beauty. Now this extraordinarily gifted novelist retells the story of Beauty and the Beast again - but in a totally new way, with fresh perspective, ingenuity, and mature insight.

    ShySusan says: "Good, but not as good as Beauty"
    "Not a Sequel to Beauty"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    To be fair it does say in the description that McKinley is retelling the story again not that she is revisiting the characters that she wrote in Beauty. Still, I really enjoyed the first book and was maybe a little too eager to hear more about them and what growing up in an enchanted castle would be like (after all 'daughter' is right in the title). So I started off this book disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it is a pretty good book, but Beauty was full of innocence, wonder, and forthright humor and this time the story is all mystic and full of symbolism. I prefer Beauty and there is not enough new here to recommend reading it in addition to that book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Night Film: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By Marisha Pessl
    • Narrated By Jake Weber
    Overall
    (1490)
    Performance
    (1328)
    Story
    (1350)

    On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive, cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova - a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

    Jacqueline says: "A M A Z I N G"
    "Blacklist me from the Blackboards"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I rarely feel moved to write reviews, but I have to disagree on this one. I feel like the pages of glowing reviews need a voice of dissension. This book was so slow and contrived, the characters so flat and disagreeable that I actually could not even finish it. That is nearly a first for me, but at 10 plus hours in I found myself so completely apathetic to the "thrilling mystery" of Ashley's death that I could not go on. You could say that I turned my eyes away from the beautiful, deathly, sovereignty of life's cruel underbelly or whatever, I think I just gave up on a bad book. In fact, I wish I had given up way sooner.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Echoes of Honor: Honor Harrington, Book 8

    • UNABRIDGED (27 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By David Weber
    • Narrated By Allyson Johnson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (969)
    Performance
    (737)
    Story
    (737)

    For eight years, Commodore Honor Harrington was in the forefront of the battle between the Star Kingdom of Manticore and the powerful People's Republic of Haven. Then she was captured and publicly executed. But Honor is far from dead, what's more, she's going home and taking her people with her.

    Jean says: "Echoes of Honor"
    "Honor fades away..."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I loved Honor from the very first book, but as the series goes on David Weber is drifting slowly away from what had made it great. This is the first book where Honor is noticeably being pushed off to the sides of her own series, replaced by interminably explanation of new technology and tactics and a beginning of the slide into the murky, frustrating obsession with politics that sucks whatever joy could have been out of the following books. The parts with Honor are still good enough to make this one worth the listen, however maddeningly short they maybe, but it is the last book I can say that of. If after listening to this book you agree with me that politics and unrestrained techno babble are not as good as compelling characters and plot, I would make this the last in the series you bother with. I wish I had.

    5 of 11 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.