Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Sarah

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Sarah

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Sarah

Phoenix, AZ, United States

1
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 12 ratings
  • 75 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1886)
    Performance
    (1724)
    Story
    (1738)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "A bucket full of awesome-ness!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Tied for first. One of my favorite all time!


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Hearing her stories from her childhood reminded me so much of my childhood. It brought back memories I had long forgotten. She is so witty and hilarious. I have since started following her blog and I am often brought to tears from laughing so hard.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I couldn't stop listening except to hit the pause button to calm my laughing before people in public thought I was crazy.


    Any additional comments?

    Amazing!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 34 mins)
    • By Roland Merullo
    • Narrated By Sean Runnette
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (345)
    Performance
    (291)
    Story
    (291)

    When his sister tricks him into taking her guru on a trip to their childhood home, Otto Ringling, a confirmed skeptic, is not amused. Six days on the road with an enigmatic holy man who answers every question with a riddle is not what he'd planned. But in an effort to westernize his passenger---and amuse himself---he decides to show the monk some "American fun" along the way.

    Mary McCarthy says: "a thoughtful and often hilarious journey"
    "Delightful"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about Breakfast with Buddha?

    I enjoyed the story. It was light enough to keep my interest yet heavy enough to make me think.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    I enjoyed the comparisons and descriptions of the enlightenment concept such as the dirt in the water glass and the painting of the goddess.


    Who was the most memorable character of Breakfast with Buddha and why?

    The guru.


    Any additional comments?

    Very delightful listen. It puts you in a peaceful mood after listening to it. I purchased it for less than $5 and was very worth it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gone Girl: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Gillian Flynn
    • Narrated By Julia Whelan, Kirby Heyborne
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (16589)
    Performance
    (14747)
    Story
    (14791)

    It is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media - as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents - the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter - but is he really a killer?

    Teddy says: "Demented, twisted, sick and I loved it!"
    "Constant plot twisting and turning"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    At first I enjoyed the way the author made you have empathy for one character and then switched it, however towards the end of the book, the empathy shifted from one to the other so quickly that I disliked them both. I thought the book ended very poorly, nobody won, everyone lost.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    I enjoyed the fact that you didn't know what was going to happen but the end became too shifty for me. It was too much.


    Do you think Gone Girl needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    No, it ended in a lose/lose situation and nothing good will come from a second book. I would not purchase it.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.