You no longer follow Q. Hazlewood

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Q. Hazlewood

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Q. Hazlewood

Q

48
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 2 reviews
  • 13 ratings
  • 31 titles in library
  • 1 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
15

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1952)
    Performance
    (1784)
    Story
    (1798)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Like Mother Teresa, but better!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

    Unicorn Success Club


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I can recite the whole thing from memory.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    I'm gonna have to go with her performance of Jenny Lawson, aka "the Bloggess." She nailed it.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I'm actually legally dead, having died of laughter. In lieu of flowers, buy this book.


    Any additional comments?

    This book is funnier than the Bible.

    48 of 54 people found this review helpful
  • Ready Player One

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Ernest Cline
    • Narrated By Wil Wheaton
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (10986)
    Performance
    (10238)
    Story
    (10243)

    At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, Ready Player One is a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut—part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner, and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed.

    Travis says: "ADD TO CART, POWER UP +10000"
    "A Flashback From The Future"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Anyone growing up in the 80s will love this for the sheer nostalgia factor, but it's not just a romp through remembering. Cline makes a compelling story and it's definitely worth a read.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The book managed to get me excited along with the main characters and I found that I cared whether they succeeded or not.


    What about Wil Wheaton’s performance did you like?

    Wil Wheaton was the perfect voice for this story. He's talented anyway, but he brought the story alive in a way that the story itself didn't quite manage.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    I'm gonna skip this question 'cause I think it'd make a lousy movie.


    Any additional comments?

    The only real problem I had is that while some books can diverge into two storylines, they manage to wind up with one cohesive story. Cline has 2 books here: one's an enjoyable dystopian treasure hunt and the other is... well, it's Captain Nintendo with more sidekicks.

    It's a good story and enjoyable, but it's not deep and won't be something that will hold up for ages to come. But it's absolutely worth a read for a day or two of escapism.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.