Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow John

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow John

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

John

Chapel Hill, NC, USA

33
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 ratings
  • 22 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Liberation Upon Hearing in the Between: Living with the Tibetan Book of the Dead

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Robert Thurman
    • Narrated By Robert Thurman
    Overall
    (123)
    Performance
    (46)
    Story
    (46)

    Robert Thurman illuminates the Tibetan Book of the Dead with up-to-date insights for modern audiences. For centuries, this text has been read aloud to the dying, who Buddhist masters say are capable of hearing up to three days after clinical death, as a guide through the tumultuous and often terrifying process of dissolution. Now, in Liberation Upon Hearing in the Between, Professor Robert Thurman demystifies this esoteric teaching and reveals the Tibetan view of dying.

    John says: "Excellent!"
    "Excellent!"
    Overall

    Robert Thurman talks about the book commonly known as the "Tibetan Book of the Dead". He's a great scholar of the book, of the tradition from which it arises, and of its relation to other world religious writings and beliefs. He's also obviously himself a deeply spiritual person. So the talks are delightful, combining both fascinating scholarship and religious commitment. His talk is by turns serious and humorous, concentrated and playful. I highly recommend this, and one by no means need to be a Buddhist to enjoy it and benefit from it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Body Artist

    • UNABRIDGED (2 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Don DeLillo
    • Narrated By Laurie Anderson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (50)
    Performance
    (21)
    Story
    (21)

    Since the publication of his first novel 30 years ago, Don DeLillo has lived in the skin of our times. He has found a voice for the forgotten souls who haunt the fringes of our culture and for its larger-than-life real figures. The Body Artist is DeLillo's haunting and profoundly moving new novel.

    John says: "Excellent in every way"
    "Excellent in every way"
    Overall

    I'd give this one six stars if I could. DeLillo isn't everyone's cup of tea. The earlier negative reviewer is fair: the painstaking exactitude with which he documents our (contemporary American people's) thoughts and speech could, I suppose,--if you're not attuned--seem to have a pointless obsessiveness. But man alive, if you let yourself go with it, you'll find that he's speaking thoughts you yourself have had, speech you yourself recall having heard someplace (you can't quite recall where); and it's all absolutely true, often funny, and continually disconcerting. What's even more odd about the sense of familiarity is that this book, really, is a bizarre ghost story in the tradition of James' Turn of the Screw or Conrad's Secret Sharer.
    About the narration: Laurie Anderson is perfect for this book in every way, aurally and temperamentally. I could listen to her tell stories for days on end. Audio quality excellent, too.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.