Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Elizabeth A. Plimpton

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Elizabeth A. Plimpton

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Elizabeth A. Plimpton

ratings
2
REVIEWS
2
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
6

  • Fall of Giants: The Century Trilogy, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (30 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Ken Follett
    • Narrated By John Lee
    Overall
    (8028)
    Performance
    (4733)
    Story
    (4720)

    Ken Follett's World Without End was a global phenomenon, a work of grand historical sweep beloved by millions of readers and acclaimed by critics. Fall of Giants is his magnificent new historical epic. The first novel in The Century Trilogy, it follows the fates of five interrelated families - American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh - as they move through the world-shaking dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women's suffrage.

    Keith says: "Ken Follett and John Lee / Audible's Dream Team"
    "Outstanding epic story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Fall of Giants rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    In the top 5.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I enjoyed Ethel. Her story reminded me of the Downton Abbey television program. A story of the relationship between the haves and the have-nots. Ethel's character has been knocked down by circumstance and yet she perseveres. She is tough and smart and I found myself rooting for her and awaiting the next part of her story line. I also enjoyed her brother, Billy. He grows so much in this story: from a 16 year old kid to a war-seasoned veteran with real motivation to see meaningful change in the world.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    I enjoyed the clandestine wedding between Walter and Maude and how they went ahead with their plans in spite of the world situation, believing that love would overcome.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No, not really. Parts of it made me chuckle, and there were certainly sad parts but it didn't cause any extreme reaction.


    Any additional comments?

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and John Lee is an incredible reader. I think I would enjoy listening to the phone book if he read it! He turns a very good book, into an excellent one. If you enjoy history, this is the series for you. I can't wait to get started on Book 2: Winter of the World. I don't know if Ken Follett has finished the third book. If not, I hope he is a fast writer!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1887)
    Performance
    (1724)
    Story
    (1738)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "I almost drove off the road!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Lawson's stories were hilarious! I admit, her freedom with the "f" word was a little much at times and some of it was pretty coarse, but I after awhile I got used to it and laughed so hard while we were driving home from California that I almost drove off the road. I was nearly in tears. I also appreciated the sadder stories and how she was able to find humor in the difficult times that life hands us. She is a master story-teller and in spite of the rough language my whole family (my husband and I and our adult kids) got a kick out of this book. I was a little embarrassed by some of the content, but the humor and the performance by the author made it pretty darn fun. The 20 hour drive from California to Colorado went by very quickly because of this laugh a minute romp through Jenny Lawson's life. Thanks for such a fun time!


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel is a sweet memoir that I have listened to many, many times. It too is read by the author and the stories crack me up. Both Lawson and Kimmel are gifted story tellers. Kimmel's style is much more tame but no less enjoyable.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    We all concur that the stories from when she worked in the HR department of a Christian organization were unreal. I also loved all the stories of her "taxidermied" (her word) critters.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Absolutely!


    Any additional comments?

    If you are offended by harsh language, this book probably is not for you. Choose A Girl Named Zippy if you want a sweet memoir with heart and humor.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.