You no longer follow Matthew

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Matthew

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Matthew

Member Since 2011

8
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 13 reviews
  • 53 ratings
  • 161 titles in library
  • 18 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Everything's Eventual: 5 Dark Tales (Unabridged Selections)

    • ABRIDGED (7 hrs and 18 mins)
    • By Stephen King
    • Narrated By Judith Ivey, Oliver Platt
    Overall
    (603)
    Performance
    (176)
    Story
    (174)

    For longtime Stephen King fans, the highlight of this volume will be The Little Sisters of Eluria, which is something of a prequel to the Dark Tower series. For "Constant Readers" and neophytes alike, all of the dark tales herein are intense, eerie, and instantly compelling. King "develops characters and atmosphere more fully in the span of 50 pages than many authors can in a full novel," says Amazon.com.

    Michael Kannard says: "3 Awesome Stories"
    "Some of my favorite King"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    These are some of my favorite short stories by King. After reading them a few years ago I thought it would be nice to listen to them. I was at times disappointed in the narrator but overall they are some of the best shorts.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ghost Story

    • UNABRIDGED (22 hrs and 34 mins)
    • By Peter Straub
    • Narrated By Buck Schirner
    Overall
    (297)
    Performance
    (271)
    Story
    (270)

    For four aging men in the terror-stricken town of Milburn, New York, an act inadvertently carried out in their youth has come back to haunt them. Now they are about to learn what happens to those who believe they can bury the past - and get away with murder. Peter Straub's classic best seller is a work of "superb horror" (Washington Post Book World) that, like any good ghost story, stands the test of time - and conjures our darkest fears and nightmares.

    Jaimie says: "Great Story! The Best of Peter Straub"
    "Long Story Short."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Quite a few reviewers have said the first part of the book (it's three parts) was long and uneventful. It's true. However the author spends quite a bit of time getting you to know the characters and shows you how each ended up where they are at and why they are in the book. I enjoyed it and will listen to it again one day. I highly recommend it.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Die Trying: Jack Reacher, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 47 mins)
    • By Lee Child
    • Narrated By Jonathan McClain
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1932)
    Performance
    (1724)
    Story
    (1719)

    When a woman is kidnapped off a Chicago street in broad daylight, Jack Reacher's in the wrong place at the wrong time. He's kidnapped with her. Chained together and racing across America toward an unknown destination, they're at the mercy of a group of men demanding an impossible ransom. Because Reacher's female companion is worth more than he imagines. Now he has to save them both - from the inside out - or die trying....

    adrienne says: "Trouble always finds him!"
    "It's Reacher."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    It's Reacher and everything you'd expect from him. Child's does a awesome job as always and McClain was a great narrator for the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 14

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Peter Clines
    • Narrated By Ray Porter
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (11542)
    Performance
    (10487)
    Story
    (10509)

    There are some odd things about Nate’s new apartment. Of course, he has other things on his mind. He hates his job. He has no money in the bank. No girlfriend. No plans for the future. So while his new home isn’t perfect, it’s livable. The rent is low, the property managers are friendly, and the odd little mysteries don’t nag at him too much. At least, not until he meets Mandy, his neighbor across the hall, and notices something unusual about her apartment. And Xela’s apartment. And Tim’s. And Veek’s.

    Magpie says: "Super solid listen!!"
    "Very interesting book."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I thought this was a very good book. The author did a great job keeping the reader/ listener interested and the plot twists were surprising. Ray Porter did a fantastic job connecting the listener with the character. Overall a great book and one I would Highly recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 34 mins)
    • By Philip Connors
    • Narrated By Sean Runnette
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (30)
    Performance
    (24)
    Story
    (24)

    In the tradition of Desert Solitaire and Shop Class as Soulcraft, this is a remarkable debut from a major new voice in American nonfiction—a meditation on nature and life, witnessed from the heights of one of the last fire-lookout towers in America.

    Lynn says: "A Meditation"
    "For What it's worth...."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I think this book deserves more credit than some reviews give it. It's more than a meditation on solitude and its less of a political rant then people say. Phil Connors is not only descriptive enough to bring you into the Gila, but also gives some history and yes his political views. Whether you agree with them or not he's just stating his point and leaving it at that. The little musings are also interesting, everything from a high school graduates choice of beverage to Jack Kerouac and his smokes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Winter of the Wolf Moon

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 37 mins)
    • By Steve Hamilton
    • Narrated By Dan John Miller
    Overall
    (71)
    Performance
    (48)
    Story
    (49)

    Sequel to Hamilton's award-winning first novel (A Cold Day in Paradise), the story returns us to the small town of Paradise, Michigan where ex-Detroit police detective and reluctant private investigator, Alex McKnight, rents out small cabins to snowmobilers and tried to bury his demons under the snow he plows each day.

    Dennis says: "Outstanding dialog and cast of characters"
    "Great Book."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I listened to this book non-stop and would listen to it again. I thought the author did a great job as did the narrator. It's well worth the time. Great book.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Kill Shot: An American Assassin Thriller

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Vince Flynn
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4178)
    Performance
    (3592)
    Story
    (3571)

    For months, Mitch Rapp has been steadily working his way through a list of men, bullet by bullet. With each kill, the tangled network of monsters responsible for the slaughter of 270 civilians becomes increasingly clear. He is given his next target: a plump Libyan diplomat who is prone to drink and is currently in Paris without a single bodyguard. Rapp finds him completely unprotected and asleep in his bed. With confidence in his well-honed skills and conviction of the man’s guilt, he easily sends a bullet into the man’s skull. But in the split second it takes the bullet to leave the silenced pistol, everything changes.

    Elle says: "I'd listen to Guidall read the tax code, so..."
    "Awesome Story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Bought this for a trip and loved it. Vince Flynn makes it so the story never stagnates and keeps the listener interested the whole time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rules of Prey: A Lucas Davenport Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 54 mins)
    • By John Sandford
    • Narrated By Richard Ferrone
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2121)
    Performance
    (1347)
    Story
    (1335)

    The "maddog" murderer who is terrorizing the Twin Cities is two things: insane and extremely intelligent. He kills for the pleasure of it and thoroughly enjoys placing elaborate obstacles to keep police befuddled. Each clever move he makes is another point of pride. But when the brilliant Lieutenant Lucas Davenport, a dedicated cop and a serial killer's worst nightmare, is brought in to take up the investigation, the maddog suddenly has an adversary worthy of his genius.

    D says: "I love this series"
    "Thoroughly Enjoyed It."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    First book of John Sanford's that I've listened too and I was not disappointed in the least bit. Good story though at times it felt cliche. Would listen to it again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Darkness Under the Sun

    • UNABRIDGED (1 hr and 33 mins)
    • By Dean Koontz
    • Narrated By Steven Weber
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (174)
    Performance
    (150)
    Story
    (155)

    There once was a killer who knew the night, its secrets and rhythms. How to hide within its shadows. When to hunt. He roamed from town to town, city to city, choosing his prey for their beauty and innocence. His cruelties were infinite, his humanity long since forfeit. But still... he had not yet discovered how to make his special mark among monsters, how to come fully alive as Death. This is the story of how he learned those things, and of what we might do to ensure that he does not visit us.

    rena says: "A story for dark nights and cocoa"
    "Good Story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I thought this was a great story. Kept me interested the whole time and didn't fall short of what I expected.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Frankenstein, Book Five: The Dead Town

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 5 mins)
    • By Dean Koontz
    • Narrated By Christopher Lane
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (670)
    Performance
    (484)
    Story
    (490)

    The war against humanity is raging. As the small town of Rainbow Falls, Montana, comes under siege, scattered survivors band together to weather the onslaught of the creatures set loose upon the world. As they ready for battle against overwhelming odds, they will learn the full scope of Victor Frankenstein’s nihilistic plan to remake the future - and the terrifying reach of his shadowy, powerful supporters. Now the good will make their last, best stand. In a climax that will shatter every expectation, their destinies and the fate of humanity hang in the balance.

    Mark says: "Great End to a Great Series"
    "Not the best in the series"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Not the best book in the series and not the best Koontz novel in general.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.