Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Anonymous

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Anonymous

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Anonymous

Member Since 2004

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 2 reviews
  • 107 ratings
  • 606 titles in library
  • 20 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1930)
    Performance
    (1764)
    Story
    (1777)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "Should have listened to the negative reviews!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Jenny Lawson and/or Jenny Lawson?

    No.


    What was most disappointing about Jenny Lawson???s story?

    I listened to the sample, and the little I heard seemed pretty good (deer sweater story), but it turned out to be just about the only tiny piece of the book that I enjoyed. It is just rambling and self-absorbed, and she tries so hard to be funny or shocking that it ends up not working for me. I must admit I gave up one-third of the way through, and skipped forward here and there to see if things appeared to be improving, but anything I hit was only more of the same, so I just got out to cut my losses. I'm writing this to get the whole thing out of my system before starting a new book.


    What didn???t you like about Jenny Lawson???s performance?

    I don't want to be too negative here, so let's just say that the good point about it is that it is energetic.


    What character would you cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    It wasn't a problem with characters as such.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Room

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Emma Donoghue
    • Narrated By Michal Friedman, Ellen Archer, Suzanne Toren, and others
    Overall
    (119)
    Performance
    (72)
    Story
    (74)

    The story of a mother, her son, a locked room, and the outside world. It’s Jack’s birthday, and he’s excited about turning five. Jack lives with his Ma in Room, which has a locked door and a skylight, and measures 11 feet by 11 feet. He loves watching TV, and the cartoon characters he calls friends, but he knows that nothing he sees on screen is truly real – only him, Ma and the things in Room. Until the day Ma admits that there's a world outside....

    Marcie says: "Like a car crash you cannot look away from"
    "Fascinating and original book"
    Overall

    This is a remarkable book. First of all, it is SF-like in creating an entirely different world, the one the boy constructs (with the aid of his mother???s explanations) to rationalize the very strange environment he finds himself in - which is not at all strange to him, as it is the only one he knows. But, much more than this, it is also an absorbing and thrilling adventure, and an impressive story of maternal love, full of emotion but not at all sentimental. A really great listen, though at first I found the high-pitched narration of the boy a bit jarring. But the story was so good that I soon got over that and was drawn in completely.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.