You no longer follow Valarie

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Valarie

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Valarie

Davison, MI, United States | Member Since 2010

14
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 5 reviews
  • 54 ratings
  • 374 titles in library
  • 41 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Bringing Adam Home: The Abduction That Changed America

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 51 mins)
    • By Les Standiford, Joe Matthews
    • Narrated By Robert Fass
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (69)
    Performance
    (46)
    Story
    (47)

    Before Adam Walsh there were no faces on milk cartons, no Amber Alerts, no National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, no federal databases of crimes against children, no pedophile registry. His 1981 abduction and murder, unsolved for over a quarter of a century, forever changed America.

    Reserved Powers says: "Well-told from the Law Enforcement Perspective"
    "An appalling look back at a broken system"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Despite the propensity of this genre of book to drag, Bring Adam Home moves quickly and kept me fully engaged. The narrator had a great expressive voice even though he was not often required to speak in "characters". I was not alive when Adam Walsh was murdered, so to me the things that have occurred since 1981 are commonplace (Amber Alerts, etc) but it was shocking to know how it all began. I've read other books about serial killers and the like but this book managed to provide a type of closure despite the circumstances.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Harry, a History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 58 mins)
    • By Melissa Anelli
    • Narrated By Renée Raudman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (132)
    Performance
    (56)
    Story
    (55)

    With remembrances from J. K. Rowling's editors, agents, publicists, fans, and Rowling herself, Melissa Anelli takes us on a personal journey through every aspect of the Harry Potter phenomenon - from his very first spell to his lasting impact on the way we live and dream.

    Chris says: "Immersion"
    "I pretty much hated this book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Harry,A History holds a unique place in my library. It is the first audiobook I did not finish. Generally if I have difficulty getting through a book it's because of the narration. Not so with this book. It was egotistical, poorly written and had very little to do about the actual "phenomenon" and more to do with the author's work as a webmaster. The author continuously tried to create suspenseful situations by dragging out the point of a story or situation. I couldn't handle it any more. I'm a huge Harry Potter fan but my interest in the books was not enough to keep me going with this book. I have no complaints with the narration, I just really disliked the story.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Mistress of Magic: The Mists of Avalon: Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Marion Zimmer Bradley
    • Narrated By Davina Porter
    Overall
    (772)
    Performance
    (434)
    Story
    (436)

    In the tradition of T.H. White's The Once and Future King, the author makes use of the prerequisites of the Arthurian legend: Excalibur, the Holy Grail, Lancelet's illicit love for Gwenhwyfar, the destruction of Camelot, but with a twist - she presents the entire panoramic story from the female point of view.

    leslie says: "Excellent Narration-Frustrating Hatchet Job"
    "Amazing performance"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The Mists of Avalon is a large undertaking for any reader, but it is well worth it. Davina Porter's narration only adds to the story. She has such a beautiful voice and it fits the character of Morgaine so well. When she reads other characters; the Mists of Avalon has many; it feels natural and unforced. Somehow she manages to modulate her voice to accommodate many characters without trying too hard.

    This is NOT the entire story. To my knowledge the Mists of Avalon was always published as one book with 3 parts (though I may be wrong) this is only the first book in the story. You have to buy all 3 parts individually. :(

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • All the Weyrs of Pern: Dragonriders of Pern

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 23 mins)
    • By Anne McCaffrey
    • Narrated By Mel Foster
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (446)
    Performance
    (276)
    Story
    (287)

    For generations, the dragonriders had dedicated their lives to fighting Thread, the dreaded spores that periodically rained from the sky to ravage the land. On the backs of their magnificent telepathic dragons they flew to flame the deadly stuff out of the air before it could reach the planet's surface. But the greatest dream of the dragonriders was to find a way to eradicate Thread completely, so that never again would their beloved Pern be threatened with destruction.

    WMF says: "The Narration Would Make A Harper Weep"
    "I miss Dick Hill"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    If I hadn't already read this book in print and knew that it was worth the read, I might not have been able to make it through. Mel Foster is NO Dick Hill and I found him very difficult to listen to. His halting reading compelled me to listen to the book at 1 &1/2 speed. It sounds more natural that way.

    Other than that Anne McCaffrey never disappoints :)

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Here Comes Trouble: Stories from My Life

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By Michael Moore
    • Narrated By Michael Moore
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (332)
    Performance
    (282)
    Story
    (276)

    This book is Moore's most personal to date - and will be irresistible to fans and foes alike. A sort of anti-memoir, Moore breaks the autobiographical mode while he hilariously presents 20 far-ranging, irreverant vignettes from his own life. This book is a wild, revealing, take-no-prisoners ride through the early life of Michael Moore. Alternately funny, eye-opening, and moving, this is a book Michael Moore has been writing - and living - for a very long time.

    Amazon Customer says: "So that's how he got that way"
    "HILARIOUS"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    First off, Michael Moore is a GREAT narrator. It feels like a memoir should, as if he's talking conversationally with you. I'm from Moore's hometown of Davison, Michigan so my interest in this book was due to a number of reasons. The book is full of great stories and it amazes me how little Davison has changed in the decades since Moore was a child. The only thing that I found somewhat confusing was that the book is not organized in chronological order, so a story of Moore as an adult may be followed by one of his years in Catholic school. But it's easy to figure out what's going on. I laughed and I cried. And I bought the actual book for my dad for Christmas :)

    Also, if you don't like Michael Moore or don't agree with his views then don't buy this book. Fair warning.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.