You no longer follow Kim

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Kim

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Kim

GREENVILLE, SC, United States | Member Since 2012

11
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 17 reviews
  • 31 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 8 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Dearly Devoted Dexter: Dexter, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Jeff Lindsay
    • Narrated By Jeff Lindsay
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (167)
    Performance
    (161)
    Story
    (160)

    Dexter Morgan has been under considerable pressure. It’s just not easy being an ethical serial killer - especially while trying to avoid the unshakable suspicions of the dangerous Sergeant Doakes (who believes Dexter is a homicidal maniac... which, of course, he is). In an attempt to throw Doakes off his trail, Dexter has had to slip deep into his foolproof disguise. While not working as a blood-spatter analyst for the Miami Police Department, he now spends nearly all his time with his cheerful girlfriend, Rita....

    Jane says: "Good because it’s wacko different."
    "Lots of Lizard Brain Fun"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Jeff Lindsay does a great job of narrating his own book. I will continue to read this series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Maze Runner: Maze Runner, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 50 mins)
    • By James Dashner
    • Narrated By Mark Deakins
    Overall
    (1977)
    Performance
    (1600)
    Story
    (1622)

    When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he's not alone. When the lift's doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade - a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

    Jake says: "Good book, but a bit violent"
    "Kinda disappointed"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I love Sci Fi but this one just couldn't keep my attention. I really had high hopes for the whole series. I think it will make a better movie.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • A Town Like Alice

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Nevil Shute
    • Narrated By Robin Bailey
    Overall
    (1208)
    Performance
    (692)
    Story
    (695)

    Wanting to repay a wartime debt to the Malays, Jean Paget returns. There she hears a story which leads her to Australia.

    Barbara says: "Better still in Audio form"
    "Just Beautiful"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    A very moving story of love and war and the trials people go through that we hope we never know.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • We Were Liars

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By E. Lockhart
    • Narrated By Ariadne Meyers
    Overall
    (102)
    Performance
    (89)
    Story
    (90)

    A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends - the Liars - whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret. Lies upon lies. True love. The truth. We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

    Ida Wilder says: "Fell flat for me"
    "Haunting"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Very well written and narrated, this is a story that sticks with you long after the last page. I've recommended it to my book club.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Blade Itself: The First Law: Book One

    • UNABRIDGED (22 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By Joe Abercrombie
    • Narrated By Steven Pacey
    Overall
    (3635)
    Performance
    (2584)
    Story
    (2599)

    Inquisitor Glokta, a crippled and bitter relic of the last war, former fencing champion turned torturer, is trapped in a twisted and broken body - not that he allows it to distract him from his daily routine of torturing smugglers.Nobleman, dashing officer and would-be fencing champion Captain Jezal dan Luthar is living a life of ease by cheating his friends at cards. Vain and shallow, the biggest blot on his horizon is having to get out of bed in the morning to train with obsessive and boring old men.

    Jefferson says: "Violent, Ironic, and Absorbing Epic Fantasy Noir"
    "Tried and Tried but Just Can't Continue"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I've so wanted to read something by Joe Abercrombie since I'm a big fan of GRRM, Rothfuss and Lynch but try as I might I cannot get into this one. I've gone through 12 chapters and still I don't know what's going on or even who the main protagonist is. Plus the narrator's voice inflections are grating on me. I will try another of his, but I'm giving up on this one.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1782)
    Performance
    (1626)
    Story
    (1638)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Funny, light entertainment"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Good first novel I hope she writes more. Love her irreverent style and follow her blog.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • John Dies at the End

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By David Wong
    • Narrated By Stephen R. Thorne
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1607)
    Performance
    (1467)
    Story
    (1480)

    STOP. You should not have touched this flyer with your bare hands. NO, don't put it down. It's too late. They're watching you. My name is David Wong. My best friend is John. Those names are fake. You might want to change yours. You may not want to know about the things you'll read on these pages, about the sauce, about Korrok, about the invasion, and the future. But it's too late. You touched the book. You're in the game. You're under the eye. The only defense is knowledge. You need to read this book, to the end. Even the part with the bratwurst. Why?

    Amazon Customer says: "Vulgar Funny. 4.95 Sale Win."
    "Bizarre"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Very odd but very enjoyable book. I'd describe it as bizarro sci fi. If you are into that sort of thing, this one is for you :)

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Snow Child

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 51 mins)
    • By Eowyn Ivey
    • Narrated By Debra Monk
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1239)
    Performance
    (1084)
    Story
    (1069)

    Debut novelist Eowyn ivey’s experience living in the Alaskan wilderness brings a palpable authenticity to The Snow Child. Alaska in the 1920s is a difficult place for Jack and Mabel. Drifting apart, the childless couple discover Faina, a young girl living alone in the wilderness. Soon, Jack and Mabel come to love Faina as their own. But when they learn a surprising truth about the girl, their lives change in profound ways.

    Bonny says: "Magical, realistic and well worth listening to"
    "Heartwarmng story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This is a sweet, touching story about a childless couple and a mysterious little girl who comes to them when they need it most.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Hexed: The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Kevin Hearne
    • Narrated By Luke Daniels
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (7357)
    Performance
    (6590)
    Story
    (6601)

    Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, doesn’t care much for witches. Still, he’s about to make nice with the local coven by signing a mutually beneficial nonaggression treaty when suddenly the witch population in modern-day Tempe, Arizona, quadruples overnight. And the new girls are not just bad, they’re badasses with a dark history on the German side of World War II. With a fallen angel feasting on local high school students, a horde of Bacchants blowing in from Vegas, and a dangerously sexy Celtic goddess of fire vying for his attention, Atticus is having trouble scheduling the witch hunt.

    Adam says: "Authenticity, Humor and Brilliant Writing"
    "Shallow and Mysogynistic"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Hounded was decent--ight entertainment, amusing dog and just slightly sexist which I brushed off as simply Mr Hearne writing "guy lit". Hexed takes the author's obvious woman problems to a new level. Luke Daniels is a great narrator, however.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The World We Found

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Thrity Umrigar
    • Narrated By Soneela Nankani
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (24)
    Performance
    (22)
    Story
    (21)

    Best-selling author and PEN and Beyond Margins Award finalist Thrity Umrigar’s acclaimed novels “resonate with rich prose and vibrant depictions of India” (Booklist). In The World We Found, Armaiti, Laleh, Kavita, and Nishta - once friends at the University of Bombay - reconnect 30 years later when Armaiti is diagnosed with cancer. Coming together, all four women are forced to reexamine their lives.

    Paula Solomon says: "Almost. not quite"
    "Thought Provoking"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This is a lovely story of four college friends, now in their forties. It starts off beautifully by describing the changes in their lives and how they have stayed the same. One of them is terminally ill and initiates a reunion. This creates a conflict involving the friend who was forced to convert from Hindu to Muslim by her husband during the rising religious tensions in India. This book addresses issues of religious conflict, personal change and lost idealism. It is a decent read, especially if you are from India.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.