You no longer follow Amazon Customer

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Amazon Customer

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Amazon Customer

Member Since 2001

178
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 2 reviews
  • 20 ratings
  • 468 titles in library
  • 22 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Brain Rules: 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 40 mins)
    • By John J. Medina
    • Narrated By John J. Medina
    Overall
    (1618)
    Performance
    (915)
    Story
    (916)

    Most of us have no idea what's really going on inside our heads. Yet brain scientists have uncovered details every business leader, parent, and teacher should know - such as the brain's need for physical activity to work at its best. How do we learn? What exactly do sleep and stress do to our brains? Why is multi-tasking a myth? Why is it so easy to forget - and so important to repeat new information? Is it true that men and women have different brains?

    Beenre says: "My favorite book for students."
    "I'll recommend this to my patients"
    Overall

    I enjoyed the book and thought that it was written in an accessible and entertaining manner. The points are familiar and not surprising to those working in the field. However, I'm a psychologist and many of my patients are not aware of the extreme impact that lack of exercise, stress and sleep have on the brain and your ability to think.

    I believe that this book was written with the intent to make work and school environments more human places - that support learning and creativity. Many people berate themselves because they simply feel like they don't measure up when it's really an environment that is bad for brains.

    Medina has made an excellent case for changing the world for the better and I hope that teachers and managers take notice.

    62 of 63 people found this review helpful
  • The Purpose-Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Rick Warren
    • Narrated By Rick Warren
    Overall
    (1080)
    Performance
    (204)
    Story
    (207)

    The Purpose-Driven Life will help you understand God's amazing plan for you. Rick Warren will guide you through a spiritual journey that will transform your answer to the important question: What am I here for? Knowing God's purpose will reduce your stress, focus your energy, and give meaning to your life. In the tradition of Oswald Chambers, Rick Warren offers distilled wisdom on the essence of what life is all about. This book will be a classic treasured by generations to come.

    Felix says: "Great book... but only for believers.."
    "Your purpose is to proselytize!!!!"
    Overall

    I didn't find the book particularly deep and didn't offer any original insights. The essence of the book basically works out to be that you are here to serve God and discover his will for you and then go out and try to preach to as many people as possible. If you are not a Christian there is really no secular message or process here for you (you might want to check out the Art of Happiness by the Dalai Lama which I did find rather helpful-and it didn't matter whether you were Buddhist or not).

    116 of 234 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.