You no longer follow Jennifer

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Jennifer

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Jennifer

Covina, CA, United States | Member Since 2010

ratings
5
REVIEWS
5
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1805)
    Performance
    (1646)
    Story
    (1659)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Great summer read & work-out book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    No


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    I thought that she might be a few steps away from feeding pigeons in the park for several hours of the day, but it was pretty funny.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    This is her first one, isn't it?


    Was Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) worth the listening time?

    Absolutely. Not that long, either.


    Any additional comments?

    Usually, when a narrator tells the reader that he or she is crazy, what that really means is that he or she is quirky, onconventional, etc. In this case however, you realize that she's not kidding. And you love that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Girl Who Played with Fire: The Millennium Trilogy, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Stieg Larsson
    • Narrated By Simon Vance
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (18198)
    Performance
    (8095)
    Story
    (8122)

    Mikael Blomkvist, crusading journalist and publisher of the magazine Millennium, has decided to publish a story exposing an extensive sex trafficking operation between Eastern Europe and Sweden, implicating well-known and highly placed members of Swedish society, business, and government. On the eve of publication, the two reporters responsible for the story are brutally murdered.

    David says: "irritatingly engrossing"
    "Fire!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What three words best describe Simon Vance’s performance?

    bizarre, lame accents


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    no, but got through it pretty fast, considering


    Any additional comments?

    Better title, same great characters

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest: The Millennium Trilogy, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (20 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By Stieg Larsson
    • Narrated By Simon Vance
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (17719)
    Performance
    (7925)
    Story
    (7959)

    Lisbeth Salander—the heart of Larsson’s two previous novels—lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit of a Swedish city hospital. She’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if and when she recovers, she’ll be taken back to Stockholm to stand trial for three murders. With the help of her friend, journalist Mikael Blomkvist, she will not only have to prove her innocence, but also identify and denounce those in authority.

    B.J. says: "Perfect."
    "Good Sequel"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Middle


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Only if you were on speed


    Any additional comments?

    Same great characters, whole new story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 1776

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 32 mins)
    • By David McCullough
    • Narrated By David McCullough
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4445)
    Performance
    (1654)
    Story
    (1661)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: If you ever thought history was boring, David McCullough’s performance of his fascinating book will change your mind. In this stirring audiobook, McCullough tells the intensely human story of those who marched with General George Washington in the year of the Declaration of Independence, when the whole American cause was riding on their success.

    Mark says: "Front Seat on History"
    "Rounds out historical education"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    If you could sum up 1776 in three words, what would they be?

    Thanks David McCullough


    Any additional comments?

    I felt like my difficient historical knowlege was seriously buouyed by this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Catching Fire: Hunger Games, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Suzanne Collins
    • Narrated By Carolyn McCormick
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (28815)
    Performance
    (22042)
    Story
    (22186)

    Katniss Everdeen continues to struggle to protect herself and her family from the Capitol in this second novel from the best-selling Hunger Games trilogy.

    FanB14 says: "Dissent Rules"
    "Worth a listen, typical "sequel issues""
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Suzanne Collins and/or Carolyn McCormick?

    You might as well listen to the whole series, and the first and third books are worth the slight sag in the middle that's in the second. As a stand-alone, it would still be pretty decent.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.