Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Jennifer

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Jennifer

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Jennifer

Lexington, IL, United States | Member Since 2008

ratings
108
REVIEWS
8
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1
HELPFUL VOTES
13

  • Jane Boleyn: The Infamous Lady Rochford

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 26 mins)
    • By Julia Fox
    • Narrated By Julia Barrie
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (41)
    Performance
    (9)
    Story
    (7)

    Jane Rochford was the sister-in-law to Anne Boleyn and Lady of the Bedchamber to Catherine Howard, whom she followed to the scaffold in 1542. Hers is a life of extraordinary drama as a witness to and participant in the greatest events of Henry's reign. Her supposed part in both Anne Boleyn's and Catherine Howard's downfall has led to her being reviled through the centuries.

    Jennifer says: "Shines new light on Jane"
    "Shines new light on Jane"
    Overall

    I found the pace a little slow at times, but there are great details about the lavish dress and surroundings that make it possible to visualize the events. It taught me a lot about the British culture at the time. It is also nice to get a different view of a woman with such a dark cloud over her reputation.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • How Lucky You Are

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Kristyn Kusek Lewis
    • Narrated By Coleen Marlo
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (70)
    Performance
    (60)
    Story
    (63)

    In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, How Lucky You Are is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their long-standing friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next governor of Virginia, but the larger questions brewing in their future are unsettling her.

    glamazon says: "This Story Never Gets Old"
    "Good Story, bad narration"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Kristyn Kusek Lewis and/or Coleen Marlo?

    Yes I would try another book from the author, but not one read by the narrator.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Coleen Marlo’s performances?

    NO


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Family Ties: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 13 mins)
    • By Danielle Steel
    • Narrated By Susan Ericksen
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (158)
    Performance
    (73)
    Story
    (73)

    Danielle Steel delves deep under the surface of contemporary American life in this compelling ensemble novel in the vein of her number-one New York Times best seller Sisters. As a young woman, Annie Ferguson overnight became mother to her sister's three small children. They're grown now, each of them will choosing a different path. Through it all, one thing remains: Family Ties.

    Darlene says: "Decent listen"
    "Boring and full of cliches"
    Overall

    This is the first Danielle Steel book I have ever read or listened to and I couldn't be more disappointed. The writing is repetitive, dull and full of cliches. The reader has a flat, monotonous tone that squeezed any hope of suspense or action out of the story. I kept listening thinking that surely such a successful writer would turn the plot around, but it just never happened. The characters were stereotypical and simplistic. I found the tone of the book to be quite conservative and old fashioned.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Ivy Chronicles

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Karen Quinn
    • Narrated By Julia Gibson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (568)
    Performance
    (192)
    Story
    (193)

    Fans of New York Times best seller The Nanny Diaries will rejoice in this wickedly hilarious novel, which acclaimed author Katharine Weber says is "much funnier and darker". Optioned for a major motion picture starring Catherine Zeta-Jones, The Ivy Chronicles skewers the twisted priorities of America's well-heeled elite.

    Vicki says: "Probably Better as an Audiobook then in Print"
    "Good, but not great"
    Overall

    The book was entertaining enough to listen to through to the end, but I found myself cringing from time to time because I found some of the language (overly simplistic and lude) and mistakes made by the main character, a Manhattan executive, implausible.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Khaled Hosseini
    • Narrated By Atossa Leoni
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (5091)
    Performance
    (1324)
    Story
    (1325)

    Born a generation apart and with very different ideas about love and family, Mariam and Laila are two women brought jarringly together by war, by loss, and by fate. As they endure the ever escalating dangers around them, in their home as well as in the streets of Kabul, they come to form a bond that makes them both sisters and mother-daughter to each other, and that will ultimately alter the course not just of their own lives but of the next generation.

    David says: "Somber but gripping"
    "Great listen"
    Overall

    Great story! Suggest to listen to this book after "Kiterunner".

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Kite Runner

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Khaled Hosseini
    • Narrated By Khaled Hosseini
    Overall
    (6584)
    Performance
    (1901)
    Story
    (1922)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: Never before has an author’s narration of his fiction been so important to fully grasping the book’s impact and global implications. Taking us from Afghanistan in the final days of its monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Their intertwined lives, and their fates, reflect the eventual tragedy of the world around them.

    Joseph says: "A storyteller's story"
    "Great story"
    Overall

    Great story. Recommend to follow this book with "Thousand Splendid Suns". It was the first time Afghanistan and it's people came alive for me and got me interested in what is going on there.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Outliers: The Story of Success

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Malcolm Gladwell
    • Narrated By Malcolm Gladwell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (9774)
    Performance
    (4298)
    Story
    (4304)

    In this stunning new book, Malcolm Gladwell takes us on an intellectual journey through the world of "outliers"--the best and the brightest, the most famous and the most successful. He asks the question: what makes high-achievers different? His answer is that we pay too much attention to what successful people are like, and too little attention to where they are from: that is, their culture, their family, their generation, and the idiosyncratic experiences of their upbringing.

    S Prabhu says: "Excellent book; well adapted for the audio format"
    "Great listen"
    Overall

    This book was a great listen with interesting stories interwoven with facts and all at a great pace. This book really got me thinking about the interconnectivity of the timing of events in my own life, in my family's, and in my culture.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything

    • ABRIDGED (7 hrs and 39 mins)
    • By Elizabeth Gilbert
    Overall
    (111)
    Performance
    (26)
    Story
    (27)

    It's 3 a.m. and Elizabeth Gilbert is sobbing on the bathroom floor. She's in her 30s, she has a husband, a house, they're trying for a baby - and she doesn't want any of it. A bitter divorce and a turbulent love affair later, she emerges battered and bewildered and realises it is time to pursue her own journey in search of three things she has been missing: pleasure, devotion and balance.

    Maha Bali says: "not bad at all!"
    "Great listening to Gilbert"
    Overall

    I loved this book when I read it and enjoyed it all over again hearing Elizabeth Gilbert read it herself. She brings the events and people even more to life.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.