Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Marcia

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Marcia

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Marcia

ratings
10
REVIEWS
6
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
11

  • The Intelligent Entrepreneur

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 39 mins)
    • By Bill Murphy
    • Narrated By Fred Berman, L. J. Ganser
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (680)
    Performance
    (400)
    Story
    (399)

    In 1998, three Harvard Business School graduates - two men and one woman - turned down six-figure salaries at big corporations, bet on themselves, and launched their own new companies. By their 10-year reunion, their audacity had paid huge dividends. They'd made many millions of dollars, created hundreds of jobs and left their mark on the world. The Intelligent Entrepreneur tells the compelling and instructive story of how these three young founders did it.

    Mark C Walker says: "Disappointing"
    "Inspirational Book!"
    Overall

    A truly fabulous and inspirational book. Great stories about real people and real companies and their struggles and successes. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who owns their own company or wants to go into business for themselves.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1868)
    Performance
    (1707)
    Story
    (1720)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "Worst Ever!!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Jenny Lawson and/or Jenny Lawson?

    Never.


    What didn’t you like about Jenny Lawson’s performance?

    Whiny, disjointed, immature.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Very disappointed. Considering the reviews that I read, I was hoping for much more. To compare Jenny Lawson to David Sedaris is to do Mr. Sedaris an extreme disservice. He is funny. She is not. I threw the book in the trash. A total waste of time and money.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Izzy and Lenore

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 31 mins)
    • By Jon Katz
    • Narrated By Tom Stechschulte
    Overall
    (124)
    Performance
    (71)
    Story
    (69)

    Jon Katz is the New York Times best-selling author of numerous nonfiction tales of man's best friend. Here he presents the story of two dogs that profoundly affected his life and work. Skittish border collie Izzy pushes him into rewarding work with Hospice. And black lab Lenore's gentle spirit helps remind him why he wanted to work with animals in the first place.

    peabozzle says: "excellent"
    "Loved It!!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about Izzy and Lenore?

    I particularly liked the stories about Jon and Izzy's visits to the hospice patients. What a wonderful service the two of them are providing to these deserving people. Izzy is so amazing in his ability to read the patients and he seems to know exactly what each one needs from him and so does Jon.


    Have you listened to any of Tom Stechschulte’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    To me, Tom Stechschulte is Jon Katz.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    It will bring joy to your heart and tears to your eyes!


    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By W. Bruce Cameron
    • Narrated By George K. Wilson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2097)
    Performance
    (1395)
    Story
    (1398)

    After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?

    Blythe says: "Best dog book ever!"
    "Very Predictable and Disappointing."
    Overall

    I am a huge fan of dog books and, after reading the superlative print reviews and enticing ads, I was thrilled to see this book available on audible.com. Unfortunately, after the first story about the feral puppy, Toby, the book became very predictable. I made it through Bailey, but I gave up with whatever dog it was that was left to its own devices in the apartment. It's too bad because the subject -- a dog's purpose -- could have made for some wonderful and insightful writing, like Merle's Door.

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Islands of Profit in a Sea of Red Ink: Why 40% of Your Business is Unprofitable, and How to Fix It

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 15 mins)
    • By Jonathan L. S. Byrnes
    • Narrated By Erik Synnestvedt
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (17)
    Performance
    (5)
    Story
    (5)

    Top companies around the world turn to Jonathan Byrnes to figure out where the profit is. He can show them which parts of their businesses are worth expanding and which are just a drain on resources. Most astonishing, he has found that roughly 40 percent of any new client’s business is unprofitable and that profit increases of 30 percent or more are within reach. Byrnes reveals an uncomfortable truth....

    Naushad says: "Worst Narrator EVER!"
    "I Just Couldn't Listen!"
    Overall

    I'm not sure if it was the content or the reader or both, but there must be a better way to get this information across. I am a sales professional and was looking forward to some insight on how to improve the sales of our company, but I just couldn't pay attention to the clipped and monotone reading style and the incessant referring to this chapter and that chapter and on and on. Maybe an abridged version that eliminated that droning information would have been better. A great book title, but it came up empty for me.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Ted Kerasote
    • Narrated By Patrick Lawlor
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (528)
    Performance
    (191)
    Story
    (190)

    Ted Kerasote met and adopted Merle, a Labrador mix, while he was on a camping trip. Merle had been living in the wild, and after taking the dog home with him to Wyoming, Kerasote soon realized that Merle could not adjust to inhabiting exclusively the human world. So he put a door in his house to let Merle live both outside and in. A deeply touching portrait of a remarkable animal, Merle's Door explores the issues that all animals and their human companions face.

    John says: "The Best Audio Book I've ever listened to"
    "A truly inspiring story!"
    Overall

    I loved this book. I am a dog lover, but not a dog owner, and have read and listened to every dog book I have been able to get my hands on for years. This is certainly one of the best. Merle was definitely an amazing dog and Ted Kerasote did a truly wonderful and insightful job in describing their life together. It is unfortunate that not all of us -- people and dogs -- can live in Kelly, Wyoming where the dogs can run free and the people can enjoy their dogs, each other and the wilderness in such a wonderful setting. It is one of the reasons that, as a city dweller, I don't have a dog. The ending was sad and heart warming at the same time. I don't know who was the luckier one because of the wonderful life they were able to share for so many years -- Merle or Ted. It was a truly inspiring story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.