You no longer follow mary

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow mary

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

mary

COLLEGE STATION, TX, United States

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 5 reviews
  • 11 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 5 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 42 mins)
    • By Sarah Silverman
    • Narrated By Sarah Silverman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1093)
    Performance
    (611)
    Story
    (602)

    From the outrageously filthy and oddly innocent comedienne Sarah Silverman comes a memoir—her first book—that is at once shockingly personal, surprisingly poignant, and still pee-in-your-pants funny. If you like Sarah’s television show The Sarah Silverman Program, or memoirs such as Chelsea Handler’s Are You There Vodka? It’s Me Chelsea and Artie Lange’s Too Fat to Fish, you’ll love The Bedwetter.

    Teddy says: "Adequate but not great..."
    "Must be a fan of Sarah's crude humor to enjoy"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Bedwetter to be better than the print version?

    Yes, books like these that aren't exactly literary are always better read by the actor/author themselves.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Her father, she re-enacts voice-mails she receives from her father. Hilarious.


    What about Sarah Silverman’s performance did you like?

    She makes funny stories even funnier with her inflection.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laughed at parts.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Girl Walks into a Bar...: Comedy Calamities, Dating Disasters, and a Midlife Miracle

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Rachel Dratch
    • Narrated By Rachel Dratch
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (968)
    Performance
    (892)
    Story
    (891)

    Anyone who saw an episode of Saturday Night Live between 1999 and 2006 knows Rachel Dratch. She was hilarious! So what happened to her? After a misbegotten part as Jenna on the pilot of 30 Rock, Dratch was only getting offered roles as "Lesbians. Secretaries. Sometimes secretaries who are lesbians." Her career at a low point, Dratch suddenly had time for yoga, dog- sitting, learning Spanish - and dating. After all, what did a forty-something single woman living in New York have to lose?

    Jeanine says: "Could not stop listening"
    "Learned things I never knew about Rachel Dratch"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you consider the audio edition of Girl Walks into a Bar... to be better than the print version?

    Yes, I think all Celebrity memoir audio books are better than the print edition, because they take less time and it is read by the celebrity.


    What other book might you compare Girl Walks into a Bar... to and why?

    Bossy Pants


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I didn't know about Rachel Dratch's son and her relationship with the father, it's a very interesting story. I relate to her experiences in dating, so it was moving to hear her story of how she finally found a lasting relationship. It was also interesting to hear her experiences in Hollywood.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Seriously...I'm Kidding

    • UNABRIDGED (3 hrs and 7 mins)
    • By Ellen DeGeneres
    • Narrated By Ellen DeGeneres
    Overall
    (980)
    Performance
    (887)
    Story
    (879)

    "I've experienced a whole lot the last few years and I have a lot to share. So I hope that you'll take a moment to sit back, relax and enjoy the words I've put together for you in this book. I think you'll find I've left no stone unturned, no door unopened, no window unbroken, no rug unvacuumed, no ivories untickled. What I'm saying is, let us begin, shall we?" (Ellen DeGeneres)

    Julie says: "Not so much."
    "Interesting for hardcore Ellen fans"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    Yes, I listened to this book while multitasking: walking, doing chores.


    Would you recommend Seriously...I'm Kidding to your friends? Why or why not?

    If they were fans of Ellen, sure.


    What does Ellen DeGeneres bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    She goes on long tangents that if I was reading I probably would have skipped over, but listening to her ramble made it easier to understand where her mind was going.


    Do you think Seriously...I'm Kidding needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    not yet


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1782)
    Performance
    (1626)
    Story
    (1638)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Ridiculously Entertaining"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I would listen to it again on a car ride with a friend who hadn't heard it yet, but I don't usually re-read or re-listen to things.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The hilarious ridiculousness of the situations she gets into.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her tone while reading the book adds to the experience. I wish she didn't have to sing the chapter titles though >.<


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary

    • UNABRIDGED (3 hrs)
    • By David Sedaris
    • Narrated By David Sedaris, Dylan Baker, Elaine Stritch, and others
    Overall
    (1107)
    Performance
    (500)
    Story
    (498)

    Featuring David Sedaris's unique blend of hilarity and heart, this new collection of keen-eyed animal-themed tales is an utter delight. Though the characters may not be human, the situations in these stories bear an uncanny resemblance to the insanity of everyday life.

    Patricia says: "Enjoyable Book"
    "Should be read entirely by David Sedaris"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from David Sedaris and/or the narrators?

    By David Sedaris? Yes. Other narrators? No. I get audible books to hear the author read it, not random other people.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    The fable aspect of it. I didn't read any reviews for this book so I didn't know all the characters were going to be animals. It was unexpected and hard to follow sometimes but clever. Some of the stories go a bit dark for my taste.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    I disliked that it was read by many different readers, I bought it to hear David Sedaris read it to me, he only reads a few of the stories.


    Was Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk worth the listening time?

    yes


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.