You no longer follow Dennis

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Dennis

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Dennis

Austin, TX, USA | Member Since 2001

106
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 9 reviews
  • 177 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 1 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Nothing Like It in the World: The Men Who Built the Transcontinental Railroad 1863-1869

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 37 mins)
    • By Stephen E. Ambrose
    • Narrated By Jeffrey DeMunn
    Overall
    (304)
    Performance
    (83)
    Story
    (85)

    Nothing Like It in the World is the story of the men who built the transcontinental railroad. In Ambrose's hands, this enterprise comes to life. The U.S. government pitted two companies - the Union Pacific and the Central Pacific railroads - against each other in a race for funding, encouraging speed over caution. As its peak the work force approached the size of Civil War armies, with as many as 15,000 workers on each line. The surveyors, the men who picked the route, lived off buffalo, deer, and antelope.

    A. Millard says: "Good Book, Poor Narration and Audio Quality"
    "Excellent book about 19th-Century expansion"
    Overall

    Like "Undaunted Courage," this is a very entertaining an interesting book which if very well-read for audio. Ambrose deserves great credit for making history entertaining. A must for anyone interested in 19th-Century American history.

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful
  • James Earl Jones Reads The Bible: The New Testament, King James Version

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Topics Entertainment
    • Narrated By James Earl Jones
    Overall
    (269)
    Performance
    (109)
    Story
    (104)

    In a voice as rich as it is recognized, James Earl Jones lends his narrative talents to the King James Version of the New Testament. In over 19 hours enhanced with a complete musical score, James Earl Jones interprets the most enduring book of our time utilizing the acclaimed actor's superb storytelling and skilled characterizations. Hailed as the greatest spoken-word Bible version ever, and with almost half a million copies sold, this exquisite audio treasury is certain to enthuse and inspire.

    Mark says: "Jones good, music bad"
    "Bad translation, bad recording"
    Overall

    I agree with the others that the music on this recording makes it unlistenable. That's the sole basis for my 1-star rating.

    However, the KJV is hopelessly outdated and based on some of the worst manuscripts now known to modern scholars. I bought this (my 2nd or 3rd audio version of the KJV; I have 4) because there was no NRSV available at the time and I was on a quest for a listenable New Testament in any translation.

    There is now a highly listenable version of the NRSV New Testament available by Oasis Audio and I highly recommend that.

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • William James, Charles Peirce, and American Pragmatism

    • UNABRIDGED (2 hrs)
    • By James Campbell
    • Narrated By Lynn Redgrave
    Overall
    (24)
    Performance
    (5)
    Story
    (6)

    C.S. Peirce was an authentic American genius who developed a tough minded pragmatism and a sweeping philosophy of evolutionary love. William James, a trained physician, carefully studied human experience, including the highest reaches of consciousness. Peirce and James established a rich, sensible, and pragmatic American approach to philosophy's traditional problems.

    Dennis says: "A nice little introduction"
    "A nice little introduction"
    Overall

    My one complaint about this book is that the reader for Peirce sounds consistently angry. Knowing a little about Peirce's personality, that may not be inaccurate, but it could easily obscure the message of his words. In fact, Peirce's language is often refreshingly clear while ocassionally and paradoxically bordering on the poetic. That said, this little book gives plenty of space to Peirce who, while little known to most laymen, is considered by many professionals as the most original and influential of American philosophers. This is an entertaining and illuminating introduction and likely to lead to a desire to know more.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • The Fabric of the Cosmos: Space, Time, and the Texture of Reality

    • UNABRIDGED (22 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Brian Greene
    • Narrated By Michael Prichard
    Overall
    (1130)
    Performance
    (291)
    Story
    (288)

    Space and time form the very fabric of the cosmos. Yet they remain among the most mysterious of concepts. Is space an entity? Why does time have a direction? Could the universe exist without space and time? Can we travel to the past?

    Martin says: "Space and Time for the Common Man"
    "Terrific!"
    Overall

    This is quite simply one of the best popular-science books I've ever read. In the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Richard Dawkins, Brian Greene is one of those rare scientists who is both a key contributer to his field and can speak in a lucid and entertaining way to the layman. Moreover, this is the first book I've read that actually clarified for me how and why time-dilation occurs according to the theory of relativity. Highly recommended.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • A History of Rome, Volume 1

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Cyril Robinson
    • Narrated By Charlton Griffin
    Overall
    (253)
    Performance
    (72)
    Story
    (73)

    A History of Rome is the story of a tiny market town on the Tiber, its rise to world domination, and then its slow, terrible plunge to utter ruin. It is the single greatest event in all human history.

    Mark Grannis says: "A superb survey of Ancient Roman History"
    "I wish Griffin read ALL audio books"
    Overall

    You can easily find more up-to-date histories of Rome that will include recent archaeological findings and exclude the racial stereotypes, but this is a fascinating story well-told by an engaging reader.

    I listened to it twice almost back-to-back and am eager to hear Part II.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • The Crisis of Islam: Holy War and Unholy Terror

    • UNABRIDGED (4 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By Bernard Lewis
    • Narrated By Bernard Lewis
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (522)
    Performance
    (57)
    Story
    (57)

    Bernard Lewis examines the historical roots of the frustrations and resentments that dominate the Islamic world today and that are increasingly being expressed in acts of terrorism. He looks at the theological origins of political Islam and tells us what the Islamic doctrine of jihad has meant at different times in history.

    Frank says: "Absolutely Worth It, HIghly Recommended!"
    "Well worth it."
    Overall

    I have read various criticisms of this book, but I found it a concise, cogent summary of many issues relating to recent acts of terrorism. I heard nothing that seemed markedly out of step with basic historical fact, whether or not you agree with the author's interpretation. In addition, this title is well-read by the author, the recording is pretty clean and loud enough at 3, at the length is about right.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • A History of the Middle East

    • UNABRIDGED (17 hrs and 5 mins)
    • By Peter Mansfield
    • Narrated By Richard Brown
    Overall
    (57)
    Performance
    (19)
    Story
    (19)

    In this masterly work of synthesis, Peter Mansfield, drawing on his experience as a journalist and a historian, explores two centuries of history in the Middle East. He forms a picture of the historical, political, and social history of the meeting point of Occident and Orient, from Bonaparte's marauding invasion of Egypt to the start of the Gulf War. For more than four thousand years, the Middle East has provided a setting for titanic struggles between great civilizations and religions.

    Colin says: "am i the only one who liked this?"
    "Dry but worth the effort"
    Overall

    This is a solid, straight, history of the Middle East that is well worth reading for a general background on the region. I would recommend it for those of an intellectual bent who are not put off by reading textbooks and the like in exchange for a more scholarly treatment than you'll generally get from the best-seller lists. Would have gotten 5 stars if it were more of a classic and a Great Read like Rise and Fall of the Third Reich.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Rich Dad, Poor Dad: What the Rich Teach Their Kids About Money - That the Poor and Middle Class Do Not!

    • ABRIDGED (3 hrs)
    • By Robert T. Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter
    • Narrated By Stephen Hoye
    Overall
    (2517)
    Performance
    (221)
    Story
    (228)

    People learn to work for money...but never to have money work for them. That's what Robert Kiyosaki says in this guide about what rich dads tell their children that poor dads do not. Browse all Rich Dad titles.

    TomD says: "Good starter"
    "Burn your money before buying this book"
    Overall

    This guy should write a book about "Getting rich quick by writing get-rich-quick books for suckers." Contains nothing but tired platitudes, vague suggestions, and poor advice.

    68 of 176 people found this review helpful
  • Moby Dick

    • UNABRIDGED (20 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Herman Melville
    • Narrated By Frank Muller
    Overall
    (48)
    Performance
    (9)
    Story
    (9)

    First published in Britain in 1851 as The Whale, Moby Dick has been considered since the 1920s one of the most important works in the English language. This unabridged recording of Moby Dick is read by the celebrated voice of Frank Muller.

    Staglified says: "A Classic"
    "Buy it."
    Overall

    Muller's reading does full justice to one of the greatest literary works of all time.

    I just wish they would break more of these recordings into chapters! Each of the three parts is one 6- to 7-hour section making finding a particular chapter very difficult.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.