You no longer follow John Dawson

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow John Dawson

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

John Dawson

Member Since 2011

1
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 ratings
  • 76 titles in library
  • 15 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • KaChing: How to Run an Online Business that Pays and Pays

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Joel Comm
    • Narrated By Walter Dixon
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (99)
    Performance
    (39)
    Story
    (39)

    The Web is a powerful “money button” that can connect you with vast networks of customers, solidify your business image, and create continual growth. The key is in knowing how to install that button effectively. In an era of blogging, social networking, message boards, and web sites for every subject under the sun, it’s difficult to figure out which Internet tools are the ones that will make your virtual register go “KaChing!”

    Juder Kuipers says: "The title is misleading"
    "Ring a Ding!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    All you ever wanted to know about making money from blogging but had no idea who to ask! This is packed full of more goodies than a "Chemist's-own vitamin pill". Links, ideas, formatting, concepts, book publishing tips and wordpress templates. To name just a few! Sadly I didn't get a button but I got past the loss when I got inspired! Yep this is in my top 10 must reads! Go do it!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • I Don’t Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I’ve Dated

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Julie Klausner
    • Narrated By Julie Klausner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (166)
    Performance
    (154)
    Story
    (155)

    In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care about Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love - and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care about Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls.

    Stephanie says: "pretty raunchy"
    "I laughed, I cried laughing, I barfed"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I’m not sure if it is the colorful use of language that gets me on this or the raw tell it like it was story that compelled me to suck in every word. I have recommend this to both my friends at the risk of them asking “are you taking non-prescription drugs?” and have adopted some of the terms Julie uses as my own. (I think I only need to credit the author twice in conversations, that’s right isn’t it?) There are important messages for a blossoming young woman buried beneath the hilarious commentary. I give this book 10/10 rubber chickens and say well done Julie you are actually pretty funny!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Small Is the New Big: And 193 Other Riffs, Rants, and Remarkable Business Ideas

    • ABRIDGED (7 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Seth Godin
    • Narrated By Seth Godin
    Overall
    (307)
    Performance
    (44)
    Story
    (43)

    Seth Godin, one of today's most influential business thinkers, writes best-selling books like Purple Cow and All Marketers Are Liars. And in between those annual books, he delivers a daily stream of ideas on one of the world's most popular blogs.

    J. Dock says: "some god some bad"
    "I found Godin!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Small Is the New Big rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I'd say 9/10 rubber chickens just because I want room to move if I find something more amazing.


    What did you like best about this story?

    It was easy to understand, it made sense and made me take a new look at what I thought.


    What does Seth Godin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I like it. The Audio book read by the author personalizes the experience and when you watch a video with Seth in (and you will after this) that whole brain science think kicks in and it just flows nicely.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    In the old days you would try to think outside the box, but in "small is the new big", Seth Godin pokes the box with a big stick!


    Any additional comments?

    I resisted reading Purple Cow because I didn't get the concept at the time, now I think I may go back and read it. This audio book converted me into being a fan of Seth's (ok I'm cheap) but seriously I like the ideas, I like "rifting" and I like the concept of "Poking the box". (If you're Australia it's not what you think!)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Brain Rules: 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 40 mins)
    • By John J. Medina
    • Narrated By John J. Medina
    Overall
    (1620)
    Performance
    (917)
    Story
    (918)

    Most of us have no idea what's really going on inside our heads. Yet brain scientists have uncovered details every business leader, parent, and teacher should know - such as the brain's need for physical activity to work at its best. How do we learn? What exactly do sleep and stress do to our brains? Why is multi-tasking a myth? Why is it so easy to forget - and so important to repeat new information? Is it true that men and women have different brains?

    Beenre says: "My favorite book for students."
    "Loved It!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    If you could sum up Brain Rules in three words, what would they be?

    Insightful, informative, well researched


    What other book might you compare Brain Rules to and why?

    Your Brain at Work; David Rock or The believing Brain, Michael Shermer.


    What did you learn from Brain Rules that you would use in your daily life?

    A great insight into how we think, learn, remember and perceive our world!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.