You no longer follow Kathryn

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Kathryn

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Kathryn

Member Since 2009

ratings
25
REVIEWS
4
FOLLOWING
4
FOLLOWERS
15
HELPFUL VOTES
96

  • Ready Player One

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Ernest Cline
    • Narrated By Wil Wheaton
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (10999)
    Performance
    (10250)
    Story
    (10255)

    At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, Ready Player One is a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut—part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner, and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed.

    Travis says: "ADD TO CART, POWER UP +10000"
    "Grabs you from the start and doesn't disappoint."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    A mere four days after it came out, I finished listening to Ready Player One this morning, an incredible debut novel by Ernie Cline (of Nern Porn Auteur and other comedy gems) and performed by Wil Wheaton. Originally, I picked this audiobook up based on the mere fact that Wil read it. (I've done this before, with Fuzzy Nation, to great success so I'm at a point where if he is the voice actor I will try any book he reads. I'll be starting Andriod Dreams next.)

    However, two pages into this book and I was utterly hooked. I had to force myself NOT to listen to it at night because I wanted to have something fun to look forward to during the workday.

    RPO is the story of an 18 year old boy as he solves the world's greatest puzzle and becomes a man in the process. Wade lives in a not-so-distant future where a game called "The Oasis" allows people to live virtual lives in as many worlds and settings as you can imagine. The children even have the option to go to school virtually, solving many of the overcrowding problems plaguing public schooling.

    The inventor of The Oasis is a reclusive genius that dies and then leaves control of his company as well as his fortune to the first person who can find an Easter Egg in his game. And thus the race begins to solve multiple puzzles in an attempt to find keys and open gates.

    This book is an 80s fan's dream. I grew up in the 80s, even though I am a bit young for some of the references. Overall, I got most of the references, except for the anime characters. The books and movies were a blast from the past, and several of the game situations make me wish something similar exists in today's society.

    The information on this book indicates that the day after the rights were bought up in a fierce bidding war, the movie rights were purchased with Ernie Cline himself as a screenwriter. I can't tell you how excited I am for this as well.

    Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy today.

    88 of 99 people found this review helpful
  • The Princess of Dhagabad: (The Spirits of the Ancient Sands)

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 48 mins)
    • By Anna Kashina
    • Narrated By Darla Middlebrook
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2)
    Performance
    (2)
    Story
    (2)

    When, on the day of her age-coming, the princess opens a mysterious bronze bottle - a gift from her grandmother - she has no idea that she is about to unleash a power older than the world itself. Worse, she is not prepared for the bearer of this power to be a handsome man whose intense gray eyes pierce her very soul. Hasan, her new slave, is immeasurably wiser and stronger than anyone she has ever heard of, and he is now hers to command - if she can handle him, that is.

    Kathryn says: "Love the story, but needs a new narrator"
    "Love the story, but needs a new narrator"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Princess of Dhagabad is one of my favorite books, and so I was delighted to finally - FINALLY - find it on Audible. The story tells the tale of a young princess, unnamed until the very end, and the genie in the bottle given to her by her grandmother. In this story, genies are created by their thirst for eternal knowledge, not power or magic. The genie and the princess form a friendship that will change both of their lives.

    I really do love this book. That being said, this audiobook desperately needs a new narrator. At times it feels like your mother, reading you a story at bedtime, stumbling over words and rushing the pacing. There are noticeable pauses before every word that is new to the narrator - most noticeably character names - that a more professional narrator would have had down pat before recording a book. Also, the "accent" seems very off. This sounds like a British grandmother, while the story takes place in a very Middle Eastern country.

    Overall, while I do love this book, I only it gave it a 3 star rating due completely to the narration. I hope one day a new version will be released with a better narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1955)
    Performance
    (1787)
    Story
    (1801)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Wish Audible had a refund policy"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I have friends who love the author's blog, who follow it daily and who think she is a very funny writer. Based on their recommendation, I picked up this book.

    I want my credit back.

    The author's experiences are probably interesting enough, except she colors it by all these witty interludes, in a "Look at me! Look at how clever I am!" style. I really feel this book would have been better served by an editor that would have trimmed it down by 1/3.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • Watchers

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Dean Koontz
    • Narrated By J. Charles
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1927)
    Performance
    (1179)
    Story
    (1194)

    From a top-secret government laboratory come two genetically altered life forms. One is a magnificent dog of astonishing intelligence. The other, a hybrid monster of a brutally violent nature. And both are on the loose....

    Katie says: "Great book; so-so narrator"
    "Great story; terrible narration"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Watchers is one of the first Koontz books I ever read, so recently I decided to pick it up as an audiobook. Now, I really wish Audible had a return policy. The story holds up just as I remember, however the narration sounds like one of those awful speech-to-text books that were popular so many years ago. I'd suggest passing on this version, and picking up the book instead.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.