You no longer follow Mark

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Mark

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Mark

Love Sci Fi and non-fiction, but willing to try anything.

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 101 ratings
  • 518 titles in library
  • 32 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Dimension of Miracles

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By Robert Sheckley
    • Narrated By John Hodgman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (589)
    Performance
    (546)
    Story
    (544)

    Dimension of Miracles is a satirical science fiction novel first published by Dell in 1968. It's about Tom Carmody, a New Yorker who, thanks to a computer error, wins the main prize in the Intergalactic Sweepstakes. Tom claims his prize before the error is discovered and is allowed to keep it. However, since Tom is a human from Earth without galactic status and no space traveling experience, he has no homing instinct that can guide him back to Earth once his odyssey begins - and the galactic lottery organizers cannot transport him home.

    Author Ronda Del Boccio says: "Hilarious! - Could have been written this year"
    "A classic. Must read!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Dimension of Miracles again? Why?

    I read this book in high school umpty three years ago. This reading is very well done and the book is a little left-leaning for my taste but smart and full of humor and action.


    What other book might you compare Dimension of Miracles to and why?

    The obvious comparison is with Hitchhikers guide to the universe. I liked Douglas Adams' work much better but this actually preceded it.So who's copying who??


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The first time he met is predator.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Solaris: The Definitive Edition

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 42 mins)
    • By Stanislaw Lem, Bill Johnston (translator)
    • Narrated By Alessandro Juliani
    Overall
    (2307)
    Performance
    (1885)
    Story
    (1903)

    At last, one of the world’s greatest works of science fiction is available - just as author Stanislaw Lem intended it. To mark the 50th anniversary of the publication of Solaris, Audible, in cooperation with the Lem Estate, has commissioned a brand-new translation - complete for the first time, and the first ever directly from the original Polish to English. Beautifully narrated by Alessandro Juliani (Battlestar Galactica), Lem’s provocative novel comes alive for a new generation.

    Burns says: "A comment on negative reviews"
    "Great premise, non-ending"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes. It's prose was artistic without being artsy. The premise was intriguing the right author could do a lot with it.


    Any additional comments?

    I wish he could have come up with a better ending. Nothing is resolved, not really. The people are damaged, ocean remains as it was. Not very satisfying.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 4 mins)
    • By Steven Sherrill
    • Narrated By Holter Graham
    Overall
    (822)
    Performance
    (773)
    Story
    (773)

    Five thousand years out of the Labyrinth, the Minotaur finds himself in the American South, living in a trailer park and working as a line cook at a steakhouse. No longer a devourer of human flesh, the Minotaur is a socially inept, lonely creature with very human needs. But over a two-week period, as his life dissolves into chaos, this broken and alienated immortal awakens to the possibility for happiness and to the capacity for love.

    Cathy says: "Full of surprises, delightfully unexpected"
    "Had high hopes but..."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break: A Novel better?

    If there had been a point.


    Has The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break: A Novel turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No. I like the premise. I just think he was trying so hard to be Tennessee William S. Burroughs that he ruined what could have been a good story; lot's of artsy prose and almost no action. I suppose readers who like Tennessee Williams and William S. Buroughs might like this.

    It's trying so hard to be "Literature" that it fails to be a good story.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The almost-fight scene at the end.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Great premise, good character development, and good choice of location/time that he could have made a good story from. I kept waiting for the good part and then it was over.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.