You no longer follow Mallory

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Mallory

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Mallory

LOS ALTOS, CA, United States

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 ratings
  • 23 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
1
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Eleven Minutes

    • ABRIDGED (6 hrs and 13 mins)
    • By Paulo Coelho
    • Narrated By Emilia Fox, Derek Jacoby
    Overall
    (118)
    Performance
    (79)
    Story
    (77)

    A chance meeting in Rio takes Maria to Geneva, where she dreams of finding fame and fortune, yet ends up working the streets as a prostitute. In Geneva, Maria drifts further and further away from love while at the same time developing a fascination with sex. Eventually, Maria's despairing view of love is put to the test when she meets a handsome young painter. In this odyssey of self-discovery, Maria has to choose between pursuing a path of darkness or risking everything to find her own 'inner light'.

    Kimberly says: "A fantastic story!!!!!!!"
    "The narrators killed it for me..."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What disappointed you about Eleven Minutes?

    Less than thoughtful plot and the narrator's voice is super creepy. Especially when he gets to the sexual scenes. Just awful!


    Would you ever listen to anything by Paulo Coelho again?

    I hear other novels are good, but thats what I heard about this one too...


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Entirely


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Complete disappointment


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2002)
    Performance
    (1833)
    Story
    (1847)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "fun but not all at once"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    I enjoyed her train of thought and rambling, especially how she turned weird or depressing things into crazy rants that made perfect sense.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gone Girl: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Gillian Flynn
    • Narrated By Julia Whelan, Kirby Heyborne
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (19888)
    Performance
    (17805)
    Story
    (17867)

    It is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media - as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents - the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter - but is he really a killer?

    Teddy says: "Demented, twisted, sick and I loved it!"
    "A little round about and drawn out"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you like best about Gone Girl? What did you like least?

    The fact that a woman reads the wife's part and a man reads the husband's part


    Would you be willing to try another book from Gillian Flynn? Why or why not?

    maybe


    Do you think Gone Girl needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes, tie up the loose ends of her mind please


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • A Discovery of Witches

    • UNABRIDGED (24 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Deborah Harkness
    • Narrated By Jennifer Ikeda
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (10156)
    Performance
    (7611)
    Story
    (7653)

    Deep in the stacks of Oxford's Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library.

    haesel says: "Where was this woman's editor?"
    "Captivating"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does A Discovery of Witches rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    One of the best books I've listened to. I can really envision the story and it keeps the entertainment up.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Shadow of Night

    • UNABRIDGED (24 hrs and 30 mins)
    • By Deborah Harkness
    • Narrated By Jennifer Ikeda
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (6386)
    Performance
    (5744)
    Story
    (5746)

    Now, picking up from A Discovery of Witches' cliff-hanger ending, Shadow of Night plunges Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont into Elizabethan London, a world of spies, subterfuge, and a coterie of Matthew's old friends, the mysterious School of Night that includes Christopher Marlowe and Walter Raleigh. Here, Diana must locate a witch to tutor her in magic, Matthew is forced to confront a past he thought he had put to rest, and the mystery of Ashmole 782 deepens. Deborah Harkness has crafted a gripping journey through a world of alchemy, time travel, and magical discoveries.

    Hallie says: "Even better than A Discovery of Witches"
    "Illuminates the imagination"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    If you could sum up Shadow of Night in three words, what would they be?

    Great series sequal


    What about Jennifer Ikeda’s performance did you like?

    I am captivated by her ability to be spot on with all of the accents and inflections. She is wonderful to listen to.


    Any additional comments?

    A must listen!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.