You no longer follow Edda

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Edda

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Edda

Redwood City, CA, USA | Member Since 2009

5
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 5 reviews
  • 63 ratings
  • 487 titles in library
  • 10 purchased in 2015
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • School of the Assassins

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By W.K. Blais
    • Narrated By Joshua Jordan
    Overall
    (3)
    Performance
    (3)
    Story
    (3)

    Winner, Best Mystery/Thriller eBook, 2014 Independent Publisher Book Awards, Bronze Medalist. Honorable mention, Readers' Favorite 2014 International Book Awards, thriller category.

    Edda says: "Don't bother"
    "Don't bother"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made School of the Assassins better?

    Not having wasted a credit on this.


    Would you ever listen to anything by W.K. Blais again?

    Never


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Joshua Jordan?

    Anybody that could maybe even pretend to fake a South African accent. Joshua Jordan's attempt was incredibly pathetic and just made him sound as if he was speaking with a potato in his mouth.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    A couple of times it seemed it could go somewhere, but false hope, then it developed into a most improbable plot.


    Any additional comments?

    I can't imagine how other listeners could have given this book more than one star.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • D.C. Dead: A Stone Barrington Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By Stuart Woods
    • Narrated By Tony Roberts
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (310)
    Performance
    (262)
    Story
    (265)

    After a shocking loss, Stone Barrington is at loose ends, unsure if he wants to stay in New York and continue his work as a partner at Woodman & Weld. It comes as a welcome relief when he's summoned to Washington, D.C., by President Will Lee. The president has a special operation that calls for Stone's unique skill set, and it's a mission that will reunite him with his former partner in crime and in bed, Holly Barker.

    William says: "The Stone Barrington Series Seems Back on Track"
    "Stuart Woods really disappointed"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    Terrible plot. Two "super" detectives are brought in to solve a crime, however, their main concern is who they are sleeping with each night with no real interest in solving the crime. Their major investment on the actual solving of the crime is making up scenarios that would pass as pausible so that they can go back to their hometowns. This was the worst book I've listened to (read) in many years.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    A huge disappointment. I used to like Stuart Woods but will now most certainly avoid him.


    Any additional comments?

    Don't waste a credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • BoneMan's Daughters

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 26 mins)
    • By Ted Dekker
    • Narrated By Robert Petkoff
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (309)
    Performance
    (126)
    Story
    (126)

    A Texas serial killer called BoneMan is on the loose, choosing young girls as his prey, His signature: myriad broken bones that torture and kill - but never puncture. In a story that is devaststing in its skill and suspense, - Ted Dekker brings to bear his ability to terrify and compel in BoneMan's Daughters.

    Todd says: "This is one sick twisted character"
    "A complete waste of time"
    Overall

    This is the most repetitive, ridiculous, boring and outlandish plot ever. The characters are so absurd that soon into the book listening becomes painful. I will never read/listen to another book by this author.

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Dark Harbor

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By David Hosp
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    Overall
    (515)
    Performance
    (243)
    Story
    (245)

    From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

    Vincent says: "Can't Put it Down!"
    "Not worth the time"
    Overall

    First book I ever read by this author, and for sure, the last. Plot is predictable. Events are not believable, aparent "setups" can be "read" a mile away. Terrible, and the voice of the reader only makes it worse.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.