You no longer follow Matt

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Matt

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Matt

Member Since 2005

8
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 53 ratings
  • 571 titles in library
  • 14 purchased in 2015
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Legion of the Damned: Legion of the Damned, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By William C. Dietz
    • Narrated By Donald Corren
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (596)
    Performance
    (403)
    Story
    (407)

    In the future, the terminally ill can prolong life by surrendering their consciousness to a cybernetic life form that is then recruited into the notorious Legion of the Damned, an elite fighting unit charged with protecting humanity.

    Ben says: "One of Sci-Fi's Best"
    "Once of the good Sci Fi books"
    Overall

    This is a good Sci Fi book. I originally read it when it was first released to paperback. While others have criticized the writer for too little character development it is hard to devote pages and pages to character development when the character will be killed off. I do with they would have used the narrator from the Lost Fleet series though.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By John Scalzi
    • Narrated By Wil Wheaton
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (6983)
    Performance
    (6489)
    Story
    (6490)

    Ensign Andrew Dahl has just been assigned to the Universal Union Capital Ship Intrepid, flagship of the Universal Union since the year 2456. Life couldn’t be better…until Andrew begins to pick up on the facts that (1) every Away Mission involves some kind of lethal confrontation with alien forces; (2) the ship’s captain, its chief science officer, and the handsome Lieutenant Kerensky always survive these confrontations; and (3) at least one low-ranked crew member is, sadly, always killed.

    Paige says: "Not his Wheal-house"
    "Hilarious, Sci-Fi with an very good twist."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Easily as good as Hitchhikers Guide, Wil Wheaton brings that All-Star narration to an outstanding book. Also the Fans of Star Trek TOS and TNG finally get a inside look at how the red shirts really feel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Lost Fleet: Dauntless

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Jack Campbell
    • Narrated By Christian Rummel, Jack Campbell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (5434)
    Performance
    (3899)
    Story
    (3933)

    Captain John "Black Jack" Geary's legendary exploits are known to every schoolchild. Revered for his heroic "last stand" in the early days of the war, he was presumed dead. But a century later, Geary miraculously returns from survival hibernation and reluctantly takes command of the Alliance fleet as it faces annihilation by the Syndics.

    Appalled by the hero-worship around him, Geary is nevertheless a man who will do his duty. And he knows that bringing the stolen Syndic hypernet key safely home is the Alliance's one chance to win the war. But to do that, Geary will have to live up to the impossibly heroic "Black Jack" legend.

    crazybatcow says: "Perfect example of decent military sci-fi"
    "Excellent Sci-Fi"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Lost Fleet: Dauntless to be better than the print version?

    I don't own the print version.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Lost Fleet: Dauntless?

    The very begining of the book. I don't want to spoil it for anyone who has not read the book.


    What does Christian Rummel and Jack Campbell bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Yes. I think Christian Rummel is one of the better narrators on Audible.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Not really, but the overall flow of the book is excellent.


    Any additional comments?

    Overall one of the best Space Battle book I've ever heard.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Zombie Fallout: Zombie Fallout, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 30 mins)
    • By Mark Tufo
    • Narrated By Sean Runnette
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3526)
    Performance
    (3280)
    Story
    (3293)

    This is the story of Michael Talbot, his family, and his friends: a band of ordinary people trying to get by in extraordinary times. When disaster strikes, Mike, a self-proclaimed survivalist, does his best to ensure the safety and security of those he cares for. Book one of the Zombie Fallout Trilogy follows our lead character at his self-deprecating, sarcastic best. What he encounters along the way leads him down a long dark road, always skirting the edge of insanity.

    Anthony says: "best series ever...really!"
    "Excelent book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Zombie Fallout again? Why?

    Worth a second listen, the author and narrator did a fantastic job with this book, and there are some fantastic plot twists.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Mike Talbot and BT.


    What about Sean Runnette’s performance did you like?

    The narrator brought the main character to life, to the point of making the listener feel that he or she may actually know someone like that.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The event with Eliza and the Armory Zombie.


    Any additional comments?

    The story is so compelling (if your a zombie novel fan) that I didn;t with to get more credits to get other books in the series.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Swarm: Star Force, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 39 mins)
    • By B. V. Larson
    • Narrated By Mark Boyett
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4272)
    Performance
    (3903)
    Story
    (3915)

    Kyle Riggs is snatched by an alien spacecraft sometime after midnight. The ship is testing everyone it catches and murdering the weak. The good news is that Kyle keeps passing tests and staying alive. The bad news is the aliens who sent this ship are the nicest ones out there.

    Lamonica Johnson says: "If Micheal Bay Wrote a Sci-Fi Novel..."
    "Gets a little slow at times but stil a great book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you consider the audio edition of Swarm to be better than the print version?

    I don't own the print edition.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Swarm?

    The very begining, can't say much without spoiling it.


    Which character ??? as performed by Mark Boyett ??? was your favorite?

    The admiral of Star Force.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No.


    Any additional comments?

    Even though it gets slow in parts the book keeps you interested.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Dead City

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By Joe McKinney
    • Narrated By Michael Kramer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (246)
    Performance
    (206)
    Story
    (202)

    Texas? Toast. Battered by five cataclysmic hurricanes in three weeks, the Texas Gulf Coast and half of the Lone Star State is reeling from the worst devastation in history. Thousands are dead or dying - but the worst is only beginning. Amid the wreckage, something unimaginable is happening: a deadly virus has broken out, returning the dead to life - with an insatiable hunger for human flesh. The nightmare begins...

    Joseph says: "Excellent, but....."
    "Not bad but not great."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    No, it wasn't among the better of the zombie genre.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    It seemed to end too abruptly, as though the writer was still in the middle of the story but then just decided to end it.


    Did Michael Kramer do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    Yes, the narrator did a good job.


    Was Dead City worth the listening time?

    Yes, but only if your really a fan of the zombie genre


    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.