You no longer follow Audrey

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Audrey

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Audrey

INDIAN LAKE, NY, United States | Listener Since 2010

9
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 9 reviews
  • 28 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Bill Bryson Collector's Edition: Notes from a Small Island, Neither Here Nor There, and I'm a Stranger Here Myself

    • ABRIDGED (17 hrs and 14 mins)
    • By Bill Bryson
    • Narrated By Bill Bryson
    Overall
    (692)
    Performance
    (361)
    Story
    (354)

    In the first of three essays included in this audiobook, Bill Bryson decides to move his wife and kids back to his homeland, the United States, after nearly two decades in Britain. But not before taking one last trip around Britain, a sort of valedictory tour of the green and kindly island that had so long been his home. The result is a hilarious social commentary.

    Annette says: "My second of three (so far) Bill Bryson books"
    "An excellent read!"
    Overall

    I've never read anything by Bill Bryson that wasn't good, and this collection of stories of his travels through England is no exception. Love his humor as well as his description of the people and places he has been!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Bill Bryson
    • Narrated By Bill Bryson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1029)
    Performance
    (290)
    Story
    (297)

    Bill Bryson was born in the middle of the American century, 1951, in the middle of the United States, Des Moines, Iowa, in the middle of the largest generation in American history, the baby boomers. As one of the best and funniest writers alive, his is perfectly positioned to mine his memories of a totally all-American childhood for 24-carat memoir gold. Like millions of his generational peers, Bill Bryson grew up with a rich fantasy life as a superhero.

    David says: "Fun, but not for squeamish"
    "One of the best books I've listened too!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Have you listened to any of Bill Bryson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have all of Bill Bryson's works, but this is the best one so far. The other ones are good listens as well. He does such a good job with history, but this is his childhood in the 1950's (which is when I was born and can relate) It's done with a good sense of humor which left me anxious to get back to the book!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1782)
    Performance
    (1626)
    Story
    (1638)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Certainly not the King's English"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you like best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)? What did you like least?

    As far as I listened the story was a funny one about growing up, but the trashy language was a bit much for me


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    the language!


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Nella Last's Peace: The Post-War Diaries of Housewife, 50

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 19 mins)
    • By Patricia Malcolmson
    • Narrated By Carole Boyd
    Overall
    (15)
    Performance
    (10)
    Story
    (9)

    Nella Last's War established a housewife and mother from Barrow-in-Furness as one of the most powerful and moving voices of the Second World War, and inspired the award-winning television drama Housewife, 49 (starring Victoria Wood). In this next installment of her unique diaries, Nella Last describes how ordinary people rebuilt their lives after the war was over.

    H. Gladman says: "Wonderful Sequel"
    "Excellent Book, Excellent Narration!"
    Overall

    I guess I had never thought much about what life would have been like after WWII in England. Nella Last is one wonderful person, someone I wish I had known. Her diary is so vivid, makes you feel like you have been there! Great foolow up to Nella Last's War. Wish there was more!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cutting for Stone: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 58 mins)
    • By Abraham Verghese
    • Narrated By Sunil Malhotra
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4715)
    Performance
    (2123)
    Story
    (2132)

    Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon at a mission hospital in Addis Ababa. Orphaned by their mother's death in childbirth and their father's disappearance, bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution. Yet it will be love, not politics - their passion for the same woman - that will tear them apart.

    Audiophile says: "An Epic Medical Novel"
    "Good novel - not the best narration"
    Overall

    This is one of the few times I think I would have read the book than listened to it. The narrators accent is so thick and his voice is so dry and monotoned that I could only listen to it for short periods of time. The story itself is well written and very interesting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Decision Points

    • UNABRIDGED (20 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By George W. Bush
    • Narrated By Ron McLarty
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1507)
    Performance
    (656)
    Story
    (656)

    Decision Points is the extraordinary memoir of America's 43rd president. Shattering the conventions of political autobiography, George W. Bush offers a strikingly candid journey through the defining decisions of his life.

    Dave says: "Not a bad choice"
    "More interesting than I thought"
    Overall

    I thought this was an excellent book. Like other people wrote, this won't change your mind about the his presidency. It did not go in chronologic order, and occasionally I had to go back to tie ideas together. I was touched in parts by this man's love for his parents, wife and children as well as his love for the people of our country. He does not whitewash his past issues but it does give insight into why he made the choices he did. Is also an interesting "story" of the American system of poltics good and bad. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the narration. Had it been narrated by him, I would have given it the 5 stars.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • An Amish Christmas: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Cynthia Keller
    • Narrated By Cassandra Campbell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (42)
    Performance
    (18)
    Story
    (18)

    Meg Hobart has everything: a happy marriage to a handsome, successful husband, a beautiful home in Charlotte, North Carolina, and three wonderful children. But it all comes crashing down around her the day she learns that her husband, James, has been living a lie - and has brought the family to financial ruin. Penniless and homeless, the Hobarts pack up what little they still possess and leave behind their golden life for good.

    Cathy says: "Feel good book!"
    "Light and entertaining"
    Overall

    An interesting, but very predictable story of a middle class family who "loses it all" but finds a happiness in the hospitality of an Amish family as well as an appreciation of a simpler lifestyle. Narration is good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Nella Last's War: The Second World War Diaries of 'Housewife 49'

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 32 mins)
    • By Nella Last
    • Narrated By Carole Boyd
    Overall
    (68)
    Performance
    (28)
    Story
    (30)

    In September 1939 housewife and mother Nella Last began a regular diary that lasted for 30 years. The account that she left of life during the Second World War is moving, fascinating, and unique. While Nella's younger son joined the army, she and the rest of the family tried to adapt to the transformed rhythms of life in Barrow-in-Furness, which suffered terribly from enemy bombing raids. Writing each day for the "Mass-Observation" project, Nella's diary entries tell a powerful story about the war years.

    Patricia says: "The world needs more Nella Lasts!"
    "excellent story, good narration!"
    Overall

    This is an interesting journal written by a wife and mother of young adult sons in WWII England. Her perspective is touching. It gave me a glimpse of what it must have been to live through a time of such fear and hardships. She never complains but is always concerned about her family and friends. Definitely a good read. I found this educational as well as an enjoyable read. I wish they had found the rest of her journal entries for those missing months in 1944, but that is the only downfall of this book, and certainly does not detract from it being 5 stars in my opinion

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Gone with the Wind

    • UNABRIDGED (49 hrs and 7 mins)
    • By Margaret Mitchell
    • Narrated By Linda Stephens
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2941)
    Performance
    (1919)
    Story
    (1948)

    Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Literature, Margaret Mitchell's great novel of the South is one of the most popular books ever written. Within six months of its publication in 1936, Gone With the Wind had sold a million copies. To date, it has been translated into 25 languages, and more than 28 million copies have been sold. Here are the characters that have become symbols of passion and desire....

    dallas says: "not to miss audible experience"
    "Excellent read!"
    Overall

    I have seen the movie multiple times, and read the book years ago, but this audio version is great. It was like I was listening to it for the first time as there was so much I must have missed in the past. The narration is excellent, she even does some singing which enhances the story. It is a long book, but very enjoyable. It really gave me more of an appreciation for what life was like in the south during the Civil War.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.