You no longer follow Amazon Customer

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Amazon Customer

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Amazon Customer

texastanya

DFW, Texas | Member Since 2009

4
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 5 reviews
  • 87 ratings
  • 180 titles in library
  • 9 purchased in 2015
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2250)
    Performance
    (2063)
    Story
    (2078)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Wasted Time and Use of a Credit..."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    I found this to be semi-humorous, but the rambling stories that seemed to go nowhere made me turn it off after an hour. Another reviewer mention the shtick wore on them by the first half of the book - I was tired of it after the first 30 minutes.
    Maybe this would be a better read, rather than listen...


    Would you ever listen to anything by Jenny Lawson again?

    Not likely.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Truly, did not enjoy her voice.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Age of Edison: Electric Light and the Invention of Modern America

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 42 mins)
    • By Ernest Freeberg
    • Narrated By Sean Pratt
    Overall
    (43)
    Performance
    (36)
    Story
    (37)

    The late 19th century was a period of explosive technological creativity, but arguably the most important invention of all was Thomas Edison’s incandescent light bulb. Unveiled in his Menlo Park, New Jersey, laboratory in 1879, the light bulb overwhelmed the American public with the sense of the birth of a new age. More than any other invention, the electric light marked the arrival of modernity.

    Amazon Customer says: "Tough Read/Listen"
    "Tough Read/Listen"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made The Age of Edison better?

    This book needed to be edited/shortened considerably.
    What could have been an interesting 2-3 hour read, was drug out for 10 hours.
    Excruciating.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • American Hippopotamus

    • UNABRIDGED (2 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By Jon Mooallem
    • Narrated By Jon Mooallem
    Overall
    (30)
    Performance
    (27)
    Story
    (27)

    In 1910, the United States - its population exploding, its frontier all but exhausted - was in the throes of a serious meat shortage. But a small and industrious group of thinkers stepped forward with an answer, a bold idea being endorsed by the likes of Theodore Roosevelt and The New York Times. Their plan: to import hippopotamuses to the swamps of Louisiana and convince Americans to eat them.

    Douglas says: "I Loved This Story!..."
    "Interesting, but somehow lacking..."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    The story was interesting. However, it seemed to jump around quite a bit.
    It seemed the the book could be improved with the help of a good editor to sequence events and the biographies of the main characters.


    How could the performance have been better?

    The author/reader seemed to get overly excited at some points during the book which made listening a challenge.


    Any additional comments?

    I really wanted to like this book. There were some fascinating events that were shared in the story, but the delivery left me feeling disappointed.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Who Is God? (And Can I Really Know Him?): Biblical Worldview of God and Truth (What We Believe, Volume 1)

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By John Hay, David Webb
    • Narrated By Marissa Leinart
    Overall
    (6)
    Performance
    (5)
    Story
    (5)

    Our children are bombarded daily with competing messages. Every song, movie, book, TV show, blog, and game is full of ideas - ideas about God, people, truth, beauty, and right and wrong. Not all of these ideas are true. Some are deceptive and even destructive. The What We Believe series helps children learn to discern the truth by using God's Word as a lens through which to view the world around them - to see everything the way God sees it. This is the first book in a four-part study.

    M. Holmes says: "Fantastic book, poor audio."
    "Book - Great! Narrator - Not So Much..."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I chose to get the Audible version of this book to assist my children as they use the hardback book for their Christian Studies class. We all love the book and the material it covers. However, the narrator makes this book painful to listen to. I really wanted to like her, but the more we listened the more we just wanted to turn the speakers off.
    Very disappointing.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Help

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 19 mins)
    • By Kathryn Stockett
    • Narrated By Jenna Lamia, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer, and others
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (28642)
    Performance
    (15165)
    Story
    (15212)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: The most celebrated performance in all of Audible’s history, The Help has nearly 2,000 5-star reviews from your fellow listeners. We hear the print book’s not bad, either. In pitch-perfect voices, Kathryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women - mothers, daughters, caregivers, friends - view one another.

    Jan says: "What a great surprise!"
    "The Help is worthy of your time"
    Overall

    Very well written.
    Great character development.
    Voicing for audio book was wonderful.
    This story offers a gentle, yet powerful, perspective on the lives and times of people in the South circa 1960.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.