You no longer follow Peggy

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Peggy

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Peggy

Member Since 2004

2
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 7 reviews
  • 17 ratings
  • 760 titles in library
  • 4 purchased in 2018
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Hidden City: The House War, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (27 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Michelle West
    • Narrated By Eva Wilhelm
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (244)
    Performance
    (224)
    Story
    (228)

    Orphaned and left to fend for herself in the slums of Averalaan, Jewel Markess - Jay to her friends - meets an unlikely savior in Rath, a man who prowls the ruins of the undercity in search of artifacts and treasure. Nursing Jay back to health is an unusual act for a man who renounced his own family long ago, and the situation becomes stranger still when Jay begins to form a den of other rescued children in Rath’s home. But worse perils lurk beneath the slums....

    Richard says: "An unexpected gem."
    "Deep, dark, lovely"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I had read this book once before, although not the series, and was very happy to see it on audible. I was drawn in immediately to the story and the characters, The author does a good job making you care about her characters, and the narrator does a good job portraying them. Then narrator did seem to get a little monotonous at times, but I'm not sure if that was entirely her fault, or the fault of the narration itself. The story was long and twisted, and if you aren't already familiar with this world that the author is creating, you needed some description and explanation. This series is a prequel to the Sun Sword series by the same author, but unfortunately it's not on audible. I am looking forward to listening to the rest of the House Wars series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dreamer's Pool: Blackthorn & Grim, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (17 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By Juliet Marillier
    • Narrated By Scott Aiello, Natalie Gold, Nick Sullivan
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1769)
    Performance
    (1654)
    Story
    (1648)

    In exchange for help escaping her long and wrongful imprisonment, embittered magical healer Blackthorn has vowed to set aside her bid for vengeance against the man who destroyed all that she once held dear. Followed by a former prison mate, a silent hulk of a man named Grim, she travels north to Dalriada. There she'll live on the fringe of a mysterious forest, duty bound for seven years to assist anyone who asks for her help. Oran, crown prince of Dalriada, has waited anxiously for the arrival of his future bride, Lady Flidais.

    Anya says: "Beautiful story, pretty solid narration"
    "Excellent tale"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    It took a little time for me to warm up to the characters, and the plot was not difficult to guess at, but somewhere along the way I started caring for the characters and the plot gripped me so much that I found myself staying up way past my bedtime to finish the story. Can't wait to read the next one...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Crowned and Dangerous

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By Rhys Bowen
    • Narrated By Katherine Kellgren
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3248)
    Performance
    (2996)
    Story
    (2981)

    Nothing is simple when you're 35th in line for the British crown, least of all marriage. But with love on their side and plans to elope, Lady Georgiana Rannoch and her beau, Darcy O'Mara, hope to bypass a few royal rules....

    Archer says: "No, it looks like he isn't! Thank goodness!"
    "Quite enjoyable"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I am really enjoying this series, and the romp in good fun and mystery contained in each individual book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Naughty in Nice

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 33 mins)
    • By Rhys Bowen
    • Narrated By Katherine Kellgren
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4079)
    Performance
    (3653)
    Story
    (3616)

    Lady Georgiana Rannoch has once again been called into service by Her Majesty the Queen. This time she's sent to Nice on a secret assignment that's nothing to sneeze at: recover the Queen's stolen snuff box. As much of an honor as it is to be trusted by Her Majesty, an even greater honor awaits Georgie in Nice - as Coco Chanel herself asks Georgie to model her latest fashion. But when a necklace belonging to the Queen is stolen on the catwalk, Georgie has to find two priceless items-and solve a murder. How's a girl to find any time to go to the casino?

    Lindsay says: "Lots of good fun"
    "Fun! Rhys has done it again!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This series is so much fun! Light humor, good mystery, fun characters; what more could a girl ask for?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Shadow Sister: The Seven Sisters, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 36 mins)
    • By Lucinda Riley
    • Narrated By Jessica Preddy
    Overall
    (515)
    Performance
    (478)
    Story
    (480)

    When their father dies, Star D'Aplièse and her six sisters, all adopted by him from the four corners of the world, are left with few clues to their heritage. But Star - the most enigmatic of the sisters - is hesitant to step out of the safety of the close relationship she shares with her sister CeCe. In desperation, she decides to follow her first clue, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a whole new world....

    Elizabeth C. says: "So disappointing! :("
    "Best of the series so far"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I enjoyed this book much more than the other two in the series. I'm not sure why that is, except perhaps that the characters and their specific struggles appealed to me more.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • A Curious Beginning

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 51 mins)
    • By Deanna Raybourn
    • Narrated By Angele Masters
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3910)
    Performance
    (3585)
    Story
    (3577)

    As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria's golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry - and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime.

    L. Williams says: "For fans of Elizabeth Peters and Gail Carriger"
    "Fun, engaging story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This was a delightful listen, with complex characters and fun plot lines. The narration was excellent. Looking forward to the next book in the series

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Girl Who Wrote in Silk

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Kelli Estes
    • Narrated By Emily Woo Zeller
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3056)
    Performance
    (2781)
    Story
    (2784)

    Inara Erickson is exploring her deceased aunt's island estate when she finds an elaborately stitched piece of fabric hidden in the house. As she peels back layer upon layer of the secrets it holds, Inara's life becomes interwoven with that of Mei Lein, a young Chinese girl mysteriously driven from her home a century before. Through the stories Mei Lein tells in silk, Inara uncovers a tragic truth that will shake her family to its core - and force her to make an impossible choice.

    Amazon Customer says: "Is it me?"
    "Excellent story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This was an excellent tale of Chinese American history, f. The narrator did a good job portraying the different characters and adding to the overall sense of emotional tension and drama. I highly recommend it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.