Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow S. Corcoran

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow S. Corcoran

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

S. Corcoran

Household Pest

Madison, WI | Member Since 2012

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 9 ratings
  • 153 titles in library
  • 47 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 15 mins)
    • By Daniel Smith
    • Narrated By Paul Michael Garcia
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (97)
    Performance
    (83)
    Story
    (81)

    In the insightful narrative tradition of Oliver Sacks, Monkey Mind is an uplifting, smart, and very funny memoir of life with anxiety - America’s most common psychological complaint. We all think we know what being anxious feels like - it is the instinct that made us run from wolves in the prehistoric age and pushes us to perform in the modern one - but for forty million American adults, anxiety is an insidious condition that defines daily life. Yet no popular memoir has been written about that experience - until now.

    Kindle Customer says: "Initially promising but ultimately disappointing"
    "More weird than funny, interesting view of anxiety"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The stories were really more weird than funny, and in places actually somewhat creepy. But the book offers some interesting analyses of anxiety, probably worth a listen for that, but if you're looking for "quirky and fun" look to Jenny Lawson instead.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Written in Red: A Novel of the Others

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 32 mins)
    • By Anne Bishop
    • Narrated By Alexandra Harris
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1051)
    Performance
    (970)
    Story
    (977)

    As a cassandra sangue, or blood prophet, Meg Corbyn can see the future when her skin is cut - a gift that feels more like a curse. Meg's Controller keeps her enslaved so he can have full access to her visions. But when she escapes, the only safe place Meg can hide is at the Lakeside Courtyard - a business district operated by the Others. Shape-shifter Simon Wolfgard is reluctant to hire the stranger who inquires about the Human Liaison job.

    Angela says: "WOW!!!!! JUST WOW!"
    "Great book!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I loved this story! From the Dark Jewels series, I know Anne Bishop has a knack for rich, deep, well-explored worlds that offer a whole different perspectives on the supernatural, and this is another amazing read along those lines.

    But the reader was sadly unspectacular. Maybe I'm spoiled by readers like Luke Daniels and Michael Kramer, but this seemed slow and pauses poorly-timed, and sometimes the emotions in the words didn't match what came out of her mouth. I eventually turned the play-speed up to 125%, that helped some, but it was still a bit stilted. FYI, if you're picky about readers you might prefer to read this one in text.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1917)
    Performance
    (1751)
    Story
    (1764)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "Funny and meaningful, both!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I loved this book. It was very funny while illustrating all too clearly what it's like to live with an Anxiety disorder. There were so many funny moments, but also sweet moments, sad moments, and lessons learned and shared. Overall a great listen! :)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.