You no longer follow Jessica

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Jessica

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Jessica

ellsworth, ME, USA

33
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 152 ratings
  • 259 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Plague of the Dead: The Morningstar Strain, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Z. A. Recht
    • Narrated By Oliver Wyman
    Overall
    (1936)
    Performance
    (1392)
    Story
    (1395)

    The end begins with a viral outbreak unlike anything mankind has ever encountered before. The infected are subject to delirium, fever, a dramatic increase in violent behavior, and a one-hundred percent mortality rate. Death. But it doesn't end there. The victims return from death to walk the earth. When a massive military operation fails to contain the plague of the living dead it escalates into a global pandemic.

    Big Art says: "Makes my top 10 Zombie Stories of all time!!"
    "Great Zombie Read"
    Overall

    I couldn't turn my mp3 off with this one. fast paced, exciting, and gripping. very well written for this genre. It's not Nobel Prize winning literature, but if i wanted that i wouldn't have chosen a zombie book! Awesome, awesome book. Well worth my credit! If you like this, definitely get the next one, Thunder and Ashes. Can't wait for the third installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Unholy Magic: Downside Ghosts, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Stacia Kane
    • Narrated By Bahni Turpin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (277)
    Performance
    (201)
    Story
    (198)

    For freewheeling ghost hunter Chess Putnam, finding herself near-fatally poisoned by a con psychic and then stopping a murderous ghost is just another day on the job. An agent for the Church of Real Truth, she investigates claims of harassment by the undead. But Chess has been extra busy these days, coping with a new “celebrity” assignment while trying on her own time to help some desperate prostitutes.

    The Book Nympho says: "FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC"
    "Incredible"
    Overall

    This book is so well written, especially when you consider it falls into the paranormal/ urban fantasy genre. It moves you to tears at points. the main character Chess is a flawed but none the less compelling protagonist. I can't wait for the next installment at the end of the month.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • The Passage: The Passage Trilogy, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (36 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Justin Cronin
    • Narrated By Scott Brick, Adenrele Ojo, Abby Craden
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (7202)
    Performance
    (3558)
    Story
    (3561)

    First, the unthinkable: a security breach at a secret U.S. government facility unleashes the monstrous product of a chilling military experiment. Then, the unspeakable: a night of chaos and carnage gives way to sunrise on a nation, and ultimately a world, forever altered. All that remains for the stunned survivors is the long fight ahead and a future ruled by fear—of darkness, of death, of a fate far worse.

    Nicole says: "You love it or you hate it..."
    "Very Good!"
    Overall

    After reading mixed reviews, I was skeptical about this one. Some saying it's the next best thing to King's "The Stand" and some saying it's way too overhyped and long. I found it long in a good way. I feel that I really got my credit's worth, and thought this was a great story. It did remind me of King's work in it's vivid detail and build up of suspense. Not too gory, but enough battle scenes to keep you on the edge of your seat. A good bet for zombie fans and post apocolypse fans. The ending really leaves you wondering when the next comes book out.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Unholy Ghosts: Downside Ghosts, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Stacia Kane
    • Narrated By Bahni Turpin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (432)
    Performance
    (323)
    Story
    (318)

    In a future world under attack from the undead, the powerful Church of Real Truth, in charge since the government fell, has sworn to reimburse citizens being harassed by the deceased. Consequently, there are many false claims of hauntings from those hoping to profit. Enter Chess Putnam, a fully-tattooed witch and freewheeling ghost hunter. She’s got a real talent for nailing human liars and banishing the wicked dead.

    T. Hernandez says: "Not for the faint of heart"
    "Oddly Compelling"
    Overall

    This starts out kind of confusing, leaving you wondering if you skipped through a part, but it does come together if you hang there. Lots of drug use but it gets hard to put down. I found myself finding things to do so I could keep listening. This will appeal to fans of LK Hamilton and Kim Harrison. Undead in the context it's used in the publisher's blurb doesn't mean zombies, more along the lines of ghosts.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • Fantasy in Death: In Death, Book 30

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 50 mins)
    • By J. D. Robb
    • Narrated By Susan Ericksen
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1301)
    Performance
    (770)
    Story
    (776)

    Bart Minnock, founder of the computer gaming giant U-Play, enters his private playroom, and eagerly can’t wait to lose himself in an imaginary world, to play the role of a sword-wielding warrior king, in his company’s latest top-secret project, Fantastical.

    Judy says: "Another Home Run!"
    "really good as usual"
    Overall

    good audio length, story, etc. well worth my credit. While the narrator does an excellent Rourke voice, she misses on Peabody. Peabody sounds like she's talking through her nose and it does not do the well written character justice.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Cerulean Sins: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Book 11

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Laurell K. Hamilton
    • Narrated By Cynthia Holloway
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (476)
    Performance
    (252)
    Story
    (252)

    How the mighty have fallen! Once a sworn enemy of all vampires, Anita is now the human consort of both Jean-Claude, the Master Vampire, and Micah, the leopard shapeshifter. But her love life doesn't stop there. It can't. For Anita - not quite as human as she once was - is consumed by both the lusts of the vampire and the primal hungers of the wereleopards. Desires that must be sated - time and time again.

    Kimberly says: "Why did they change Narraters?"
    "good story, bad narrator"
    Overall

    as usual, her story hits key points: sex, vampires, zombies, werewolves, but the narrator has bad pronunciation. she has obviously never read a lkh book before and doesnt get any of the french words right, or the character names. Good length but bad reader.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.