You no longer follow Anonymous

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Anonymous

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Anonymous

Member Since 2007

14
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 16 ratings
  • 219 titles in library
  • 14 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
1
FOLLOWERS
0

  • And Then There Were None (Dramatised)

    • ORIGINAL (1 hr and 26 mins)
    • By Agatha Christie
    • Narrated By Lyndsey Marshal, John Rowe, Geoffrey Whitehead
    Overall
    (63)
    Performance
    (53)
    Story
    (51)

    A BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatisation of a classic Agatha Christie mystery, starring Lyndsey Marshal, Geoffrey Whitehead and John Rowe. Ten guests travel to an island at the invitation of someone named U. N. Owen. All are strangers, but they have two things in common: they have all been responsible for someone's death, and none will leave the island alive.

    Melody says: "Personally, don't prefer the dramatization"
    "They Re-wrote the book!"
    Overall

    I understand that some abridgement was to be expected in the interest of saving time, but to completely re-write important sections of the book? If I had wanted to purchase a different story, I wouldn't have purchased this one. Reader beware, some liberties have been taken which may or may not be appreciated.
    I own the unabridged narration of this story, and thought that a dramatized version would be nice, but this is a totally different story altogether. Ten Little Soldiers? They were Indians, but I guess political correctness got in the way. And there was no conversation between Vera and the Judge at the end of the book. There are other references to the Judge wondering if there is a God. I don't recall seeing that in the book, so that must be part of someone's agenda. And the same company has released a ton of these Agatha Christie books! Shame on the publisher, and shame on Audible for putting this "book" out. If I could get my money back, I would. With interest. I only gave it one star because Audible made me. With interest, Audible!

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • The Eyes of the Dragon

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 18 mins)
    • By Stephen King
    • Narrated By Bronson Pinchot
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1020)
    Performance
    (684)
    Story
    (684)

    A tale of archetypal heroes and sweeping adventures, of dragons and princes and evil wizards, here is epic fantasy as only Stephen King could envision it.

    Christine says: "Enjoyable"
    "One of King's best"
    Overall

    This was one of the first Stephen King books that I ever read, and it's still one of my favorites now that I've read most of his extensive library. I'm not sure that it should be advertised as the prelude to the Dark Tower series, though, because this is a stand-alone story that should be appreciated on its own merits. While the DT books borrowed some elements from this book, the DT story itself was not influenced by this book. Wonderful narration and a solid story line make this a keeper for me. Well worth the credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Gregory Maguire
    • Narrated By John McDonough
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4371)
    Performance
    (2046)
    Story
    (2075)

    Heralded as an instant classic of fantasy literature, Maguire has written a wonderfully imaginative retelling of The Wizard of Oz told from the Wicked Witch's point of view. More than just a fairy tale for adults, Wicked is a meditation on the nature of good and evil.

    Suzn F says: "I was not sure for a while then......."
    "You've got to be kidding me........"
    Overall

    This has to be the worst "sequel" I've listened to in my entire life. Seriously, a wicked witch who isn't really wicked, just misunderstood? Thanks, Gregory Maguire, for ruining one of American literature's greatest villains. I wasn't even impressed with the narration. I'm sure that the play is great if you get into all of that, but from a purely literary point of view, this book is awful. I'll stick with dramatized literature from now on.

    0 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Twisted Rhymes (Dramatized)

    • UNABRIDGED (52 mins)
    • By Bob Harper
    • Narrated By Bob Harper
    Overall
    (10)
    Performance
    (3)
    Story
    (3)

    Prepare for amazing audio entertainment! Twisted Rhymes is a remarkable collection of bizarre tales that will seize your imagination and lead you to the edge of darkness, time after time. Ten hauntingly unique stories await you, each with a twist, each with a chill all its own. From medieval days to the present, your mind will dance with imagery and shudder in the shadows of gloom!

    A User says: "An Instant Favorite!"
    "An Instant Favorite!"
    Overall

    This is radio horror the way it's supposed to be. Turn out the lights, get under the covers, and get ready for a long night!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Legend of Sleepy Hollow

    • ORIGINAL (1 hr and 39 mins)
    • By Washington Irving
    • Narrated By Jerry Robbins
    Overall
    (81)
    Performance
    (21)
    Story
    (20)

    The Colonial Radio Theatre on the Air celebrates its 10th anniversary with a spectacular production of this classic tale. Meticulously adapted from the book by Washington Irving, Colonial was determined to stay true to the mood and flavor the story is famous for. Outstanding performances by the Colonial Radio Players, a rousing (and scary) music score by Jeffrey Gage, thousands of sound effects, and the terrifying final encounter with the Headless Horseman...

    Willie says: "10 Stars!!!!!!"
    "Awesome Audio Performance!"
    Overall

    I am not a fan of traditional audiobooks that are simply narrated and take 18 hours to listen to. Sleepy Hollow is what I consider to be America's first true ghost story, and it was performed almost to perfection, with an amazing score, wonderful acting, a great script, and a surprisingly short listen time. I've heard a lot of CRT since, and I still have yet to find a performance to top this one.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Purpose-Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Rick Warren
    • Narrated By Rick Warren
    Overall
    (1078)
    Performance
    (202)
    Story
    (205)

    The Purpose-Driven Life will help you understand God's amazing plan for you. Rick Warren will guide you through a spiritual journey that will transform your answer to the important question: What am I here for? Knowing God's purpose will reduce your stress, focus your energy, and give meaning to your life. In the tradition of Oswald Chambers, Rick Warren offers distilled wisdom on the essence of what life is all about. This book will be a classic treasured by generations to come.

    Felix says: "Great book... but only for believers.."
    "Wonderful Book"
    Overall

    I have read the book and listened to the audiobook, and it has some great insights into why we are here. I downloaded the book despite the bad reviews given by people who still don't understand that this life on earth does not revolve around them. And people, please don't trash a book in a review if you can't even spell.
    Nothing original in this book, but it gives the ultimate truth in its most base form: Be who God created you to be and stop thinking that you are more important than our Creator.

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.