Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Teresa

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Teresa

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Teresa

shadow618

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL, United States | Member Since 2010

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 7 reviews
  • 28 ratings
  • 200 titles in library
  • 15 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Fault in Our Stars

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 14 mins)
    • By John Green
    • Narrated By Kate Rudd
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (10367)
    Performance
    (9521)
    Story
    (9573)

    Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

    FanB14 says: "Sad Premise, Fantastic Story"
    "Great story but tear jerker!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This was a wonderful story of young love - except that the two people involved had cancer. Green balanced medical details artfully with excerpts from teenage life, and you found yourself being pulled into the story of Hazel Grace and Augustus. I loved this book - I just wish it had been longer! The warnings about having Kleenex near should be taken seriously, because this book will make you cry and make you laugh, and even look at your life a little differently! More from this author, Audible, please!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • We Were Liars

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By E. Lockhart
    • Narrated By Ariadne Meyers
    Overall
    (174)
    Performance
    (155)
    Story
    (158)

    A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends - the Liars - whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret. Lies upon lies. True love. The truth. We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

    Ida Wilder says: "Fell flat for me"
    "This one was interesting"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This story was far from predicatable. Loved the concept and set up - cousins together for the summer with a guest. I loved the peek the author gave us into a "privileged" family where simply being a family member was enough. The story structure bothered me at first with the big jump that came midway through the book - but once I finished it and went back and re-read the beginning, it all made sense. This was really a good story about first love, family dramatics, and teen angst. I would recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Don't Try to Find Me

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Holly Brown
    • Narrated By Hillary Huber, Angela Goethals, James Fouhey
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (51)
    Performance
    (47)
    Story
    (48)

    When a 14-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her - launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl. Don't try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley’s hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

    Kate says: "Tedious Melodrama"
    "Totally Predictable"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I wanted to like this book. The premise was intriguing and the characters appeared sympathetic. The problem was that I hated this mother. Simply hated her. And most of the book was HER. Way too much mother story, not enough daughter. I could sympthize with the daughter and understand her decisions and motivations - I was a teenager once, but I found NOTHING sympathetic about this mother or bellievable. The only sane character in the whole book was the father, and everybody pretty much ignored him. Overall I would say skip this book. Not worth the credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Into the Darkest Corner

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 1 min)
    • By Elizabeth Haynes
    • Narrated By David Thorpe, Karen Cass
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1129)
    Performance
    (947)
    Story
    (950)

    Catherine has been enjoying the single life for long enough to know a good catch when she sees one. Gorgeous, charismatic, spontaneous – Lee seems almost too perfect to be true. And her friends clearly agree, as each in turn falls under his spell. But there is a darker side to Lee. His erratic, controlling and sometimes frightening behaviour means that Catherine is increasingly isolated. Driven into the darkest corner of her world, and trusting no one, she plans a meticulous escape.

    Betty says: "AN OCD IS STALKED BY A PSYCHOPATH"
    "Doomed by lady narrator"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This might have been a good story, but I was so annoyed with the British accent of the lady narrator I couldn't tell. Between all the "meselfs" and "don't they now"s I could hardly focus on the plot at all. And frankly, I think Catherine was the world's most stupid character - it was like watching a bad horror movie where you know the girl is going to get killed if she goes down in the basement but she goes down in the basement anyway! I might try looking at this one in print and might like it better. Am just amazed at the difference narration can make.

    This is my second British one this month. Audible staff - we aren't all from London! How about cutting back on the British narrators?

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Still Missing

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 6 mins)
    • By Chevy Stevens
    • Narrated By Angela Dawe
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1311)
    Performance
    (691)
    Story
    (701)

    On the day she was abducted, Annie O’Sullivan, a 32-year-old Realtor, had three goals: sell a house, forget about a recent argument with her mother, and be on time for dinner with her ever-patient boyfriend. The open house is slow, but when her last visitor pulls up in a van as she’s about to leave, Annie thinks it just might be her lucky day after all.

    Richard Delman says: "A singular voice; a horrendous story."
    "Terrific story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Hard to describe this one without giving away the plot twist. A few little things kept this from being another Gone, Girl - there was definitely another story that needed to be told about the best friend and the boyfriend. I didn't expect the plot twist at all and had to listen to it more than once to be sure I got it, so that makes it a great story for me! Although the story starts out being somewhat formulaic, it rather quickly goes off the anticipated track. I would recommend this novel. The performance was right on tone, and the story kept me guessing until the end. It definitely left me wanting more Chevy Stevens!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gone Girl: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Gillian Flynn
    • Narrated By Julia Whelan, Kirby Heyborne
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (16353)
    Performance
    (14532)
    Story
    (14570)

    It is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media - as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents - the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter - but is he really a killer?

    Teddy says: "Demented, twisted, sick and I loved it!"
    "Best Book I've heard in a long time"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    OMG, this was one terrific book. The story as it wound in and out and around the characters of Nick and Amy was as intricate as the fabled Gordian knot. This is far more than the story of a marriage. The psychopathology of both Nick and Amy will remind you of people you know - or maybe it will remind you of a long forgotten episode in your own life (although yours is probably not as involved). I simply can't say any more without ruining the story, and as Sweeney Todd would say "What happened now, well that's the play, and he wouldn't want you to give it away". Just listen to the book. And plan on spending a lot of sleepless nights until you finish it!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • How Do You Kill Eleven Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More than You Think

    • UNABRIDGED (46 mins)
    • By Andy Andrews
    • Narrated By Andy Andrews
    Overall
    (250)
    Performance
    (225)
    Story
    (224)

    If the truth is what sets us free, what does it mean to live in a society where truth is absent? How do truth and lies in the past shape our destiny today? Through the lens of the Holocaust, best-selling author Andy Andrews examines the critical need for truth in our relationships, our communities, and our government.

    Ella says: "Quick and Powerful"
    "I feel robbed! What a rip-off."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Andy Andrews and/or Andy Andrews?

    Maybe.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    That the whole story took 15 min. See preceeding comment.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Andy Andrews’s performances?

    Maybe


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    So much more could have been done with this! The idea is fascinating - why didn't he go into more detail? More examples?


    Any additional comments?

    This is not a book. This is a pamphlet. Don't waste your money.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.