You no longer follow Ruth

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Ruth

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Ruth

Say something about yourself!

Redding, CA USA | Member Since 2009

5
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 7 reviews
  • 19 ratings
  • 581 titles in library
  • 72 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
53
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Open Season: A Joe Pickett Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By C. J. Box
    • Narrated By David Chandler
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (778)
    Performance
    (624)
    Story
    (622)

    C.J. Box’s Open Season is a rare debut mystery that “immediately sets itself apart from the crowd” (Booklist). This thrilling novel stars Joe Pickett, a game warden in Wyoming who finds his life in danger after he looks into a murder investigation and discovers a conspiracy involving an oil pipeline and its threat to an endangered species.

    Kristina says: "Disappointed."
    "I love these High Country Wyoming mysteries!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Open Season again? Why?

    I will read this book again after I read all the other books written by C J Box.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Joe Pickett is all about integrity as a game warden in this Wyoming mystery.


    Which character – as performed by David Chandler – was your favorite?

    Sheridan, Joe's seven year old daughter.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Highway

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 53 mins)
    • By C.J. Box
    • Narrated By Holter Graham
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (284)
    Performance
    (246)
    Story
    (251)

    When teenagers Danielle and Gracie Sullivan take a clandestine car trip to visit their friend in Montana, little do they know it's the last time anyone will ever hear from them again. The girls and their car simply vanish. Cody Hoyt, who's just lost his job and has fallen off the wagon after a long stretch of sobriety, is in no condition to investigate. But his son Justin, who the girls were going to visit, and his former partner, Cassie Dewell, convince him to drive south to their last known location. As Cody makes his way to the remote stretch of Montana highway where the girls went missing, Cassie discovers that there have been scores of similar disappearances in the state.

    Lorrie says: "No, No, No!!!!"
    "Loved this from beginning."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What made the experience of listening to The Highway the most enjoyable?

    The narrator.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Cody Hoyt


    What does Holter Graham bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Excellent work.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Not and extreme reaction other that I wanted to read more. I was angry at the ending.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Innocence

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By David Hosp
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (261)
    Performance
    (77)
    Story
    (76)

    Lawyer Scott Finn is caught in the middle of a touchy case. A policewoman is left for dead in an alley, and when she recovers she points the finger at an El Salvadorian immigrant with gang ties. But all the evidence is pointing the other way. And as Finn digs deeper, he finds a thin line between guilt and innocence.

    Grayv says: "Difficult to turn off"
    "It's a great story and quick paced."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes!


    What other book might you compare Innocence to and why?

    The Hit by David Baldachi and other books by John Grisham!


    What does George Guidall bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Excitement and mystery!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Oh, Yes!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Deep Blue Good-By: A Travis McGee Novel, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs)
    • By John D. MacDonald
    • Narrated By Robert Petkoff
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1275)
    Performance
    (1070)
    Story
    (1080)

    He's a self-described beach bum who won his houseboat in a card game. He's also a knight errant who's wary of credit cards, retirement benefits, political parties, mortgages, and television. He only works when his cash runs out, and his rule is simple: he'll help you find whatever was taken from you, as long as he can keep half.

    Michael Cavacini says: "An Entertaining Start To A Classic Series"
    "Just another murder mystery."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    No! It is written just like every other who done it.


    What was most disappointing about John D. MacDonald’s story?

    Nothing new.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Petkoff – was your favorite?

    None.


    Did The Deep Blue Good-By inspire you to do anything?

    Yes, not read any more MacDonald books.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dark Harbor

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By David Hosp
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    Overall
    (499)
    Performance
    (229)
    Story
    (231)

    From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

    Vincent says: "Can't Put it Down!"
    "Dark Harbor"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Excellent story! Grabs from the beginning to end! David Hosp is a great mystery writter.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • World Without End

    • UNABRIDGED (45 hrs and 40 mins)
    • By Ken Follett
    • Narrated By John Lee
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (9158)
    Performance
    (3565)
    Story
    (3605)

    In 1989 Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth, set in 12th-century England. Readers and listeners ever since have hoped for a sequel. At last, here it is. Although the two novels may be listened to in any order, World Without End also takes place in Kingsbridge, two centuries after the townspeople finished building their exquisite Gothic cathedral. The cathedral is again at the center of a web of love and hate, greed and pride, ambition and revenge.

    Laura says: "Repetitive, but still enjoyable"
    "World Without End"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Great story with a lot of history about building churches in the 12th century. Good charaters and I liked the ending. I couldn't put it down.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs)
    • By Laura Hillenbrand
    • Narrated By Edward Herrmann
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (13642)
    Performance
    (9470)
    Story
    (9531)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: Seabiscuit was a runaway success, and Hillenbrand’s done it again with another true-life account about beating unbelievable odds. On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared.....

    Annie M. says: "Hillenbrand could make even laundry fascinating!"
    "Unbroken"
    Overall

    I loved this book, learned so much about Louis Zamperini life, and was astounded that he survived all that he did. Everything written about how the pilots learned to fly the planes during WWII was new to me. I don't remember anything about this is my history books. I know I could read it a second time and find things I missed. It was very well written and the reader did an excellent job. I have recommended it to all my friends and family members.

    I loved this book, learned so much about Louis Zamperini life, and was astounded that he survived all that he did. Everything written about how the pilots learned to fly the planes during WWII was new to me. I don't remember anything about this is my history books. I know I could read it a second time and find things I missed. It was very well written and the reader did an excellent job with narration. I have recommended it to all my friends and family members. I feel both men and women would enjoy this book.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.