Customer Reviews | Audible.com
 

You no longer follow Yin

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Yin

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Yin

København NV, Denmark

1
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 ratings
  • 9 titles in library
  • 1 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • I Don’t Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I’ve Dated

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Julie Klausner
    • Narrated By Julie Klausner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (126)
    Performance
    (118)
    Story
    (119)

    In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care about Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love - and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care about Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls.

    Stephanie says: "pretty raunchy"
    "Julie Klausner is not shy and it's hilarious!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I absolutely loved this book! I think once I got used to Julie Klausner's talk about sex, sex and sex, things got really interesting and I was hooked! I don't remember ever being bored and her narration was filled with the right amount of energy that it felt like she was casually telling you about her life. I would like to say that the story was more about her sex life than I expected without any details left out. If you don't like profanity and swearwords this book may not be so entertaining for you but I loved it.

    For the record I have no idea who she is, I just thought the story seemed fascinating and her narrating good. However, sometimes I would remind myself that the people she talk about are real and not fictional characters. She is pretty ruthless about them and at times very rude! But nevertheless I was very entertained and don't regret purchasing it at all.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 39 mins)
    • By Susan Cain
    • Narrated By Kathe Mazur
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3346)
    Performance
    (2873)
    Story
    (2844)

    At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled "quiet," it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions to society--from van Gogh’s sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer.

    Teddy says: "Thought provoking and Uplifting.... A++++++++!!!!!"
    "A very relevant and important book for everyone"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I never really read non-fiction because I often end up being bored at point but my God, this book has been a bit of a revelation to me from the very beginning. I 'read' this book in the audiobook format which I can recommend to anyone who, like me, is very interested in the content but has a hard time committing to non-fiction at times (the narrating is good too.)

    I feel like this book is a must-read to anyone no matter if you're an introvert yourself. I am not a big introvert but I feel like I learned a lot about myself and other people - some things just make more sense now and I feel like this book has made me wiser.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Bossypants

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By Tina Fey
    • Narrated By Tina Fey
    Overall
    (15914)
    Performance
    (11889)
    Story
    (11821)

    Before Liz Lemon, before "Weekend Update," before "Sarah Palin," Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV. She has seen both these dreams come true. At last, Tina Fey's story can be told....

    Warren says: "Tina Fey broke my new SUV"
    "Pure entertainment"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I was very doubtful about buying this book because some people mentioned mumbling and being disappointed with the comedy but I decided to try it anyway and oh my God. I finished this book in two days, listening to it non-stop no matter where I went. I haven't watched 30 Rock or been much aware of what's been going on with SNL but that didn't seem to matter that much. I might not have laughed out loud all the way through but I was very, very, VERY entertained by it. When she didn't make me laugh, she made me think.

    About the mumbling I feel bad for the readers who considered it a bad thing - her mumbling is a part of the jokes she is telling. If you listen to what she says it's absolutely hilarious. I think I laughed the most when she mumbled something ridiculous at the end of her sentence - I kind of feel bad for the readers who didn't get to enjoy it like I did.

    I'm so happy I decided to buy this book!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Warm Bodies

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Isaac Marion
    • Narrated By Kevin Kenerly
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (19)
    Performance
    (19)
    Story
    (19)

    R is a zombie. He has no name, no memories, and no pulse, but he has dreams. He is a little different from his fellow Dead. Amongst the ruins of an abandoned city, R meets a girl. Her name is Julie, and she is the opposite of everything he knows - warm and bright and very much alive, she is a blast of colour in a dreary grey landscape. For reasons he can't understand, R chooses to save Julie instead of eating her, and a tense yet strangely tender relationship begins.

    Cherie says: "Slaughter never sounded so sweet"
    "Adorable and entertaining"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Warm Bodies again? Why?

    Not sure. I mean the story is nice, the dialogue is funny but things went a bit slow so probably not really.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    R was my absolute fave, obviously. His mind and inner dialogues are really funny and he's just a nice, warming character. His best friend is also really funny, whenever he was present things were fun.


    Any additional comments?

    First of I'd like to say that the story itself is really cute, it's nice and it's thoughtful. It is kind of weird how you're reading about how the humans are pretty much doomed and everyone is either dead or a zombie yet it continues to be a light story. It's a very cute story really but it's lacking something towards the end, I didn't even realize it ended and I just sat for more, feeling like something was missing that didn't make the story THAT good.

    However the characters are nice and the narrating was really what caught me. Kevin Kenerly has an extremely nice and relaxing voice and he's very good at doing zombie noises and sounding like other characters. I hope to find more books narrated by him.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.