You no longer follow Jo

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Jo

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Jo

Life Coach. Spiritual self-help memoir junkie. Mom in love with my kiddos. Trying to remember joy as I get older.

BOONE, IA, United States | Member Since 2010

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 ratings
  • 79 titles in library
  • 15 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2041)
    Performance
    (1870)
    Story
    (1886)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "One of the Best I've Read/Heard in a Long Time"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Yes, and again and again.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    There are so many it's hard to pick. Having a drink while listening is not a good choice if you want to avoid blowing it out your nose. But my husband and I keep repeating this line to each other, a variation of which shows up repeatedly in heated conversations between Jenny and her husband Victor after she's gotten into some modern-day Lucy Ricardo pickle, "I am trying to save your life, M----- F-----!" She says all the candid and inappropriate things we all think but are too scared to say out loud -- well at least I think them. Guess I shouldn't try to speak for everyone.


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    She is real and raw and bat-$#*&-crazy funny. Her delivery is spot-on


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Bat-$#!& Crazy Funny & Real


    Any additional comments?

    This book is for every person who has ever experienced a sense of not belonging, not being enough, not having enough, and overall generalized anxiety, and who has decided to find the absurdity in it and laugh yourself through it, with the occasional space for gut-wrenching tears. Jenny Lawson is my new hero.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Silver Linings Playbook: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Matthew Quick
    • Narrated By Ray Porter
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1950)
    Performance
    (1765)
    Story
    (1768)

    During his years in a neural-health facility, Pat Peoples has formulated a theory about silver linings. He believes that his life is a movie produced by God, that his mission is to become physically fit and emotionally supportive, and that if he succeeds, his happy ending will be the return of his estranged wife, Nikki. When Pat goes to live with his parents, everything seems changed: no one will talk to him about Nikki, and his new therapist seems to be recommending adultery as a form of therapy.

    FanB14 says: "Eagles Victory"
    "Excellent Narration"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What does Ray Porter bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    His accents and dialects, especially in the male characters, are perfectly nuanced. I would swear his Dr. Patel is a an Indian man speaking and the characters of Jake and Pat's father are very authentic Philly accents and voices.


    Who was the most memorable character of The Silver Linings Playbook and why?

    I love Pat, inside and out.


    Any additional comments?

    Haven't seen the movie yet, but am looking forward to it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Jane Austen, Steve Hockensmith
    • Narrated By Katherine Kellgren
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (813)
    Performance
    (523)
    Story
    (523)

    In this terrifying and hilarious prequel, we witness the genesis of the zombie plague in early 19th-century England. We watch Elizabeth Bennet evolve from a nave young teenager into a savage slayer of the undead. We laugh as she begins her first clumsy training with nunchucks and katana swords and cry when her first blush with romance goes tragically awry.

    Dawn says: "Fantastic Narrator for a Fun Story!"
    "More enjoyable than I anticipated"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    This book got my husband to consider reading and watching the real Pride & Prejudice, so I'm a fan for that reason alone. We enjoyed it together on a family car trip. The characters were perfectly aligned with my memory of Jane Austen's characterizations, except that Mary was a bit more likable, which was fine with me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.