You no longer follow Greta Kathryn

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Greta Kathryn

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Greta Kathryn

I credit audible for improving my listening skills.

Lemon Grove, CA, United States

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 ratings
  • 0 titles in library
  • 7 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
1
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1782)
    Performance
    (1626)
    Story
    (1638)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "LOLs times a thousand"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Jenny Lawson is so random, its hilarious. Her stories are uber bizarre and extremely entertaining.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Her stories from childhood and adult life, oh heck, the whole whole book. I especially liked her affinity for stuffed dead animals in costume and the wacky names she gave them.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt very uncomfortable when she sang the intros to the songs, but that may be a personal problem more than anything.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gone Girl: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Gillian Flynn
    • Narrated By Julia Whelan, Kirby Heyborne
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (15362)
    Performance
    (13613)
    Story
    (13645)

    It is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media - as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents - the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter - but is he really a killer?

    Teddy says: "Demented, twisted, sick and I loved it!"
    "Can't wait to see the movie!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Girl Gone kept me at the edge of my seat, full of twists and I couldn't wait to hear how it ends. The performance is really excellent. The readers really were Amy and Nick and I loved how my perceptions of the characters changed throughout the book. I will say that this story does not have a happy ending and at some points, is rather depressing. But as a whole, the story was very dramatic and compelling and I really want to see the movie.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By Ann Voskamp
    • Narrated By Ann Voskamp
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (238)
    Performance
    (174)
    Story
    (173)

    In One Thousand Gifts, Ann invites you to embrace everyday blessings and embark on the transformative spiritual discipline of chronicling God's gifts. It's only in this expressing of gratitude for the life we already have, we discover the life we've always wanted... a life we can take, give thanks for, and break for others. We come to feel and know the impossible right down in our bones: we are wildly loved - by God.

    Cara says: "Absolute Must Read"
    "Can't seem to get through it"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I was on a roll listening to audiobooks until I got to this one. I cannot seem to get through it. First of all, there is no story and its really hard to follow what the author is talking about. Her writing and descriptions are what I can only call ethereal. That is both a positive in that her descriptions are unique and verbose, but also negative in that its like following someone's dream. I am about 3 hours into the book and I cann't fathom what the author talks about for another 5 hours! The concept of writing down 1000 blessings is inspiring but the book only seems to be somewhat about that so far. My biggest complaint is that I imagine the author must have a gap in her teeth (no offense) because anytime she pronounces an S, there is a high pitch noise and it makes my ears burn and the hair on my arms stand on end. I am going to continue to try and limp through this audiobook until my credit renews and I can get a new one. I'm bummed - I wanted to be inspired by this book.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Art of Racing in the Rain

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Garth Stein
    • Narrated By Christopher Evan Welch
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (5445)
    Performance
    (3408)
    Story
    (3414)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: If you’ve ever loved a dog - or even patted a dog - this book, told from the perspective of man’s best friend, will tug at your heartstrings...and won’t let go until long after Welch performs the last word. Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively and by listening very closely to the words of his master.

    Lora says: "Enzo (because he's so wize) for president."
    "This book changed the way I talk to my own dog."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The story was excellent and I loved hearing it from the dog, Enzo's perspective. My boyfriend says we all know how stories about animals end, and while that is true, I highly recommend this book. It doesn't leave you sobbing and hugging your own pet but leaves you feeling at peace. Enzo's story telling is vivid and complete. You are able to relate to his emotions and understanding without forgetting that he is a dog. More than anything, I enjoyed how much he loved and respected his owner. Definitely a good read, especially if you love dogs!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Girl Walks into a Bar...: Comedy Calamities, Dating Disasters, and a Midlife Miracle

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Rachel Dratch
    • Narrated By Rachel Dratch
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (965)
    Performance
    (890)
    Story
    (889)

    Anyone who saw an episode of Saturday Night Live between 1999 and 2006 knows Rachel Dratch. She was hilarious! So what happened to her? After a misbegotten part as Jenna on the pilot of 30 Rock, Dratch was only getting offered roles as "Lesbians. Secretaries. Sometimes secretaries who are lesbians." Her career at a low point, Dratch suddenly had time for yoga, dog- sitting, learning Spanish - and dating. After all, what did a forty-something single woman living in New York have to lose?

    Jeanine says: "Could not stop listening"
    "A new fan!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you like best about this story?

    I did not know much about Rachel Dratch before this book. I had seen her on a few SNL episodes (I'm not a big fan of SNL) and on the first season of 30 Rock and then hadn't thought much about her since. Within the first few minutes of her book, I knew I was a fan of not only the book, but her too! She's got a fantastic sense of humor (especially about herself) and while her book is very funny, its also exceptionally honest. I really appreciated her openness about her self, her personal life, and her career.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed a lot. But more than anything, I felt like the book ended with her happy and better off than the beginning. Being so invested in her story, I deeply wanted that for her.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jeneration X: One Reluctant Adult's Attempt to Unarrest Her Arrested Development; Or, Why It'sNever Too Late for Her Dumb Ass to Learn Why Froot Loops Are Not for Dinner

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Jen Lancaster
    • Narrated By Jen Lancaster
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (148)
    Performance
    (132)
    Story
    (131)

    In Such a Pretty Fat, Jen Lancaster learned how to come to terms with her body. In My Fair Lazy, she expanded her mind. Now, the New York Times best-selling author gives herself - and her generation - a kick in the X, by facing her greatest challenge to date: acting her age. Jen is finally ready to put away childish things (except her Barbie Styling Head, of course) and embrace the investment-making, mortgage-carrying, life insurance-having adult she's become.

    T. Snyder says: "Jen Lancaster does it again!"
    "Another great read/listen from Jen!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Jeneration X again? Why?

    Absolutely! First of all, because its hilarious. Second, because I have followed Jan Lancaster through her blogging and books for upwards of 6years now and it feels like she's talking to me. Third, did I mention its hilarious?!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Its a tie between Jen and Libby.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bittersweet: Thoughts on Change, Grace, and Learning the Hard Way

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By Shauna Niequist
    • Narrated By Shauna Niequist
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (43)
    Performance
    (37)
    Story
    (35)

    A collection of essays about what change has to teach us and the ways God uses the changes in our lives to shape, challenge, heal, and remake us.

    Anita says: "Just okay"
    "Poetic and inspiring"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Bittersweet rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I absolutely loved this book. I listened to it all the way through twice and keep it downloaded on my phone to listen to portions whenever I feel drawn to. Its inspiring and Shauna's vivid reflections make the listener reflect on their own experiences as well. This book makes me feel relaxed and happy.


    What does Shauna Niequist bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her reading of the book is so poetic. It feels like a song.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.