You no longer follow April Antoniou

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow April Antoniou

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

April Antoniou

Queen Maeve

Planet Earth | Member Since 2014

16
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 ratings
  • 47 titles in library
  • 1 purchased in 2015
FOLLOWING
1
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Agatha Christie: An Autobiography

    • ORIGINAL (1 hr and 20 mins)
    • By Agatha Christie
    • Narrated By Agatha Christie
    Overall
    (169)
    Performance
    (146)
    Story
    (139)

    Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.

    Duane Bolton says: "Authentic recording"
    "free...because the audio quality it terrible"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    As a writer I found this to be quite fascinating; however, I would like to have been able to hear it clearly. I couldn't make it all the way through but I appreciate that it was free; just a heads-up to potential downloaders.


    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • The Goldfinch

    • UNABRIDGED (32 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Donna Tartt
    • Narrated By David Pittu
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (12353)
    Performance
    (11190)
    Story
    (11215)

    The Goldfinch is a haunted odyssey through present-day America and a drama of enthralling force and acuity. It begins with a boy. Theo Decker, a 13-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. Bewildered by his strange new home on Park Avenue, disturbed by schoolmates who don't know how to talk to him, and tormented above all by his unbearable longing for his mother, he clings to one thing that reminds him of her: a small, mysteriously captivating painting that ultimately draws Theo into the underworld of art.

    B.J. says: "A stunning achievement - for author and narrator"
    "It was the best of books it was the worst of books"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    First, a note on the narrator: No matter how you feel about this story, it would have been nowhere near as good without David Pittu. I will seek out other audiobooks that he has done, and I can't say enough how much I loved his reading. He has the right type of voice that is easy to pay attention to, great inflection and wonderful accents...Fantastic!

    Some, like Stephen King, have referred to this novel as Dickensian and I suppose that is one way to look at it: a sweeping novel that stops to ponder different social classes, the conflicting good and bad in all of us, "wordiness," unrequited love. Maybe its because this book won the big prize, but since the beginning I was trying to find reasons to dislike this book. First, there was the premise. I didn't want to be thrust into a book where a child was orphaned, because then I would be forced to feel sorry for the protagonist. After the mother dies, I did stop listening for a bit. But about a week later, I found I was thinking about the characters, and wondering what happens next, so I continued to listen. And that was the way it was with this novel - "It was the best of novels, it was the worst of novels" - falling in love with characters like Hobbie and Boris, and then not caring at all for others like Kitsey. Some parts of the novel seemed cliché, but then these clichés would evolve into some of the most beautiful moments in the novel - moments that are described beautifully. One reviewer said commented it was "full of all the senses, small visual details, sounds, smells, feelings, ambiance, even memories." And just as I was being sincerely awed by these passages, they would go on just a little too long, or become a little too vast, and loose me. The story - the ending - is all a little too convenient for me, and wraps up a little too nicely. And since I just finished listening last night, I don't know how I feel about the metafictional ending, but I did think the way the ending moved was very skillfully done. It winded its way through many different interpretations for the meanings of life that we are all trying to get to, or understand, or articulate in some way that makes sense. Then Tartt intuitively moves into a different subject, wrapping up a piece of the plot that leads, again, into more deeper realms of human contemplation. Sometimes the best novels are ones that you are unsure of - ones that marinade and get better over time and with thought. I've seen great reviews for this book, and reviews bashing nearly everything about this book. I lie somewhere in-between. I can certainly see why this won the Pulitzer Prize. It is a contemporary bildungsroman that makes a sincere effort to answer very important questions in a very beautiful ways.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Leaves of Grass

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Walt Whitman
    • Narrated By Robin Field
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (93)
    Performance
    (51)
    Story
    (50)

    One of the great innovators in American letters, Walt Whitman created a daringly new kind of poetry that became a major force in world literature. Leaves of Grass is his masterpiece, written in a pure, uninhibited style, combining sensual and mystical sensibilities. Its bold, joyous voice, its expansive optimism, and its transcendental vision made it uniquely American.

    Chrisopher says: "beautiful"
    "No chapters! Can't skip to a particular poem :("
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The poetry is beautiful, wonderfully narrated. However, I am required to read certain parts for school and there is no way in the Audible manager or the app to navigate to a specific poem. This is a terrible flaw - anyone should be able to look through the listing of poems and click on which one(s) he or she wants to hear, whether for school or for pleasure. Poor design. Unfortunately, there's no "rating" for this technical aspect of the audiobook.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.