You no longer follow Wendyann

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Wendyann

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Wendyann

ratings
8
REVIEWS
4
FOLLOWING
1
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
1

  • The Apothecary's Daughter

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 28 mins)
    • By Charlotte Betts
    • Narrated By Anne Dover
    Overall
    (75)
    Performance
    (65)
    Story
    (65)

    Susannah Leyton has grown up behind the counter of her father's apothecary shop in bustling Fleet Street. A skilled student, her father has granted her the freedom to pursue her considerable talents. But Susannah is dealt a shocking blow when her widowed father marries again, and her stepmother seems determined to remove her from the apothecary shop. A proposal of marriage from the charming Henry Savage seems to offer Susannah an escape. But as the plague sweeps through London, tragedy strikes, and dark secrets from her husband's past begin to unfold.

    Dkssol says: "Wonderful story !!"
    "Listen to the sample"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made The Apothecary's Daughter better?

    The story may be good. I tried several times , but I was unable to over come the cadance of the narration.


    What didn’t you like about Anne Dover’s performance?


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

    • UNABRIDGED (26 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Emily Croy Barker
    • Narrated By Alyssa Bresnahan
    Overall
    (264)
    Performance
    (245)
    Story
    (248)

    Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world. Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...

    Grace says: "In most ways, this is just the kind of book I seek"
    "no competition for Deborah Harkness"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This thinking woman was not able to finish this book. About 3 hours in .. I gave up.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Secondhand Spirits: A Witchcraft Mystery, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 15 mins)
    • By Juliet Blackwell
    • Narrated By Xe Sands
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (616)
    Performance
    (577)
    Story
    (567)

    Lily Ivory hopes for a normal life when she opens Aunt Cora's Closet. With her magical knack for vintage fashion - she can sense vibrations of the past from clothing and jewelry - her store becomes a big hit. But when a client is murdered and children start disappearing from the Bay Area, Lily may be the only one who can unravel the crime.

    Sherry says: "Witches and fashion - what's not to like!"
    "Light witchy listen"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I enjoyed the back ground descriptions. The story progressed with enough detail to keep me interested. The narrator did a great job of distinguishing the characters. I got the next books in the series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Good House: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Ann Leary
    • Narrated By Mary Beth Hurt
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1379)
    Performance
    (1242)
    Story
    (1235)

    The Good House tells the story of Hildy Good, who lives in a small town on Boston's North Shore. Hildy is a successful real-estate broker, good neighbor, mother, and grandmother. She's also a raging alcoholic. Hildy's family held an intervention for her about a year before this story takes place - "if they invite you over for dinner, and it’s not a major holiday," she advises "run for your life" - and now she feels lonely and unjustly persecuted. She has also fooled herself into thinking that moderation is the key.

    Rhonda Morrison says: "What a great book, Hildy is a great character!"
    "Do you know where the bodies are?"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The title caught my eye. The location was familar to me. The dark humor and insight into the rationalization and realization of alcholoism is, in my opinon, well done. Applause to both author and narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.