Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow R. Flaherty

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow R. Flaherty

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

R. Flaherty

Illinois, USA | Member Since 2012

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 4 reviews
  • 30 ratings
  • 144 titles in library
  • 27 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Palace Job

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 17 mins)
    • By Patrick Weekes
    • Narrated By Justine Eyre
    Overall
    (133)
    Performance
    (120)
    Story
    (121)

    Loch is seeking revenge. It would help if she wasn’t in jail. The plan: To steal a priceless elven manuscript that once belonged to her family, but is now in the hands of the most powerful man in the Republic. To do so, Loch - former soldier, former prisoner, and current fugitive - must assemble a crack team of magical misfits that includes a cynical illusionist, a shape shifting unicorn, a repentant death priestess, a talking magical war hammer, and a lad with seemingly no skills.

    Brent Auble says: "Fun Fantasy Heist in a Well Thought-out World"
    "When Fantasy Meets Oceans 11"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    A tinker safecracker. An acrobat. A wizard who was kicked out of university. A shapeshifting unicorn. A death priestess and her enchanted talking war hammer. And two army deserters who broke out of prison. Their job - to conduct the heist of the century. The Palace Job is a fantasy heist full of action and intrigue with a couple of plot twists thrown in for good measure. The premise is good and the book is well executed. I did enjoy the story.

    In my mind, the audio version left something to be desired. Ms. Eyre attempted to use distinct voices for the characters, but in my mind they were not distinct enough. With the changes in point of view it was sometimes difficult to follow. In addition, her British accent on top of the fantasy names added more complexity.

    This is a good read and worth reading if you enjoy fantasy, action, or heist books.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Graveyard of Memories: John Rain, Book 8

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 3 mins)
    • By Barry Eisler
    • Narrated By Barry Eisler
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (311)
    Performance
    (275)
    Story
    (276)

    What makes a legendary assassin? For John Rain, it was the lessons of love, war, and betrayal he learned in Tokyo in 1972. Fresh from the killing fields of Southeast Asia, Rain works as a bagman under the watchful eye of his CIA handler, delivering cash to corrupt elements of the Japanese government. But when a delivery goes violently wrong, Rain finds himself in the crosshairs of Japan’s most powerful yakuza clan.

    katelyn says: "Eisler does it again"
    "A backstory novel worth reading"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    When I first started this book and it started with a backstory, I hoped this wasn't an entire backstory novel because those tend to be lame fillers. Well, it was and I was wrong. Not only is this a great way to get new readers interested in the exploits of John Rain, it is a great action story with good pacing. I enjoyed reading about Rain's predicaments and how these early episodes shaped who he turned into. While I was interested in finding out what has happened since the last book (The Detachment), this story proved to be a great read and not lame filler. The story doesn't rely on previous knowledge of the characters and if can be an introduction into Eisler's other books about Rain. Recommended for people interested in action books in the vein of Vince Flynn or Daniel Silva. For those who may be turned off by a back story novel, give it a shot and be surprised.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Spellbound: Book II of the Grimnoir Chronicles

    • UNABRIDGED (16 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Larry Correia
    • Narrated By Bronson Pinchot
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3833)
    Performance
    (3572)
    Story
    (3569)

    Dark fantasy goes hardboiled in Book II of the hard-hitting Grimnoir Chronicles by the New York Times best-selling creator of Monster Hunter International. The Grimnoir Society’s mission is to protect people with magic, and they’ve done so—successfully and in secret—since the mysterious arrival of the Power in the 1850s, but when a magical assassin makes an attempt on the life of President Franklin Roosevelt, the crime is pinned on the Grimnoir.

    Paulette says: "Spellbound is Pure Magic"
    "A great second part of a great story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This book is a great sequel to Hard Magic. Starting not long after the events of the first book, the Grimnoir Society is thrown into the midst of chaos. Several different plots are being pinned on them in an effort to turn the population against magic users. While this is a great story, I highly recommend starting with the first book, Hard Magic. Bronson Pinchot's performance in both books is exceptional.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Hard Magic: Book I of the Grimnoir Chronicles

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Larry Correia
    • Narrated By Bronson Pinchot
    Overall
    (5699)
    Performance
    (5170)
    Story
    (5186)

    Jake Sullivan is a licensed private eye with a seriously hardboiled attitude. He also possesses raw magical talent and the ability to make objects in his vicinity light as a feather or as heavy as depleted uranium, all with a magical thought. It's no wonder the G-men turn to Jake when they need someoneto go after a suspected killer who has been knocking off banks in a magic-enhanced crime spree.

    Clinton says: "Not what I thought it was going to be."
    "Alternative Magical History"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I loved the way the magic system works in this story. "Actives" are connected to a power granting them a gift but only exhibit one type of ability. This leads to some super combos when two or more people use their powers together. There are several different characters whose stories are woven together in this struggle between good (The Grimnoir Society) and evil (Imperial Japan - the Imperium).

    The book takes place in an alternative 1930's world where dirigibles rule the skies and prohibition is in full force in the United States. Magic first manifested in humans in the late 1800's and different cultures have cultivated their actives in different ways.

    It was a slow started and took about five or six chapters before the story started to thrum. But once it started it was a full action ride. Great story for fantasy buffs, those who like steampunk or alternative history.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.