You no longer follow Lucy

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Lucy

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Lucy

Smyrna, TN, United States | Member Since 2008

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 25 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1808)
    Performance
    (1649)
    Story
    (1662)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Laugh-out-loud hilarious"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I've already listened to this audiobook twice. It's a wonderfully twisted and hilarious memoir.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    It's sort of like Tina Fey's "Bossypants," only with more taxidermy.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    Beyonce.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I nearly died laughing. It would have been an excellent way to go.


    Any additional comments?

    I really can't recommend this book highly enough. I bought the print version as well and read some of the more screwed-up stories to my six-year-old, minus the profanity, in the hopes that he is coming to realize just how damn lucky he really is.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By Rae Carson
    • Narrated By Jennifer Ikeda
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (240)
    Performance
    (221)
    Story
    (222)

    Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness. Elisa is the chosen one. But she is also the younger of two princesses. The one who has never done anything remarkable, and can't see how she ever will. Now, on her 16th birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king - a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one. And he's not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies, seething with dark magic,are hunting her.

    Alexis says: "Lovely fantasy!"
    "Light High Fantasy"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to The Girl of Fire and Thorns again? Why?

    Girl of Fire and Thorns is a pretty light, easy read/listen. The narrator does a good job of communicating. I'd listen again.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Favorite character -- Cosme. In a book of some rather cringeworthy female stereotypes, she stands out as a strong, centered character of integrity. She's not necessarily dynamic, but she is noteworthy.


    What does Jennifer Ikeda bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The narration is excellent. Inflection and tone are engaging.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I admit I did want to stay in the car longer than necessary to finish the book, which is a rarity for me!


    Any additional comments?

    There are some things about this book that are a little eyebrow-raising. The main character's self-worth seems almost entirely wrapped up in her weight, and yet when she finally slims down we're supposed to believe she didn't notice it happening -- ? Someone that attuned to their body and its perceived deficiencies would have noticed such a thing immediately. In addition, I'm a bit appalled that until she loses the weight, she is perceived as "plain and fat." Yet apparently becoming thinner also causes you to magically become beautiful as well.

    It's a small thing, and something that doesn't necessarily detract from the larger story; but it rankled a bit, and is the only reason I wouldn't recommend the book to younger girl readers. They're bombarded with that nonsense enough already.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Matched: Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 54 mins)
    • By Ally Condie
    • Narrated By Kate Simses
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1428)
    Performance
    (1126)
    Story
    (1146)

    Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate... until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

    FanB14 says: "Giver Goes Green"
    "Tiresome"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Ally Condie and/or Kate Simses?

    I became almost as tired of the Society as the main character did. The reading felt a bit monotonous, the narrator over-enunciated just about everything; it felt rote. But the story itself also felt a bit plodding, so perhaps that wasn't the fault of the narrator.


    What three words best describe Kate Simses’s voice?

    Childlike


    Was Matched worth the listening time?

    No. Unfortunately.


    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.