You no longer follow Renee

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Renee

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Renee

San Rafael, CA, United States | Member Since 2009

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 0 reviews
  • 0 ratings
  • 77 titles in library
  • 4 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1967)
    Performance
    (1799)
    Story
    (1813)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "The print/e-book is better"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Jennie Lawson is an amazing writer of the humorous strange things of her life. I read the print book at had to put it down at times because I was laughing so hard. Content-wise, this book is a winner~


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    BossyPants


    How could the performance have been better?

    Authors reading their own material can find it tricky. Lawson is not a polished speaker - I attended a live reading and book-signing, and she both spoke too quickly and swallowed her words - all the marks of someone who could use a bit of training and be fabulous.

    The book suffers the same problems. I didn't find her accent an issue at all, but the speed of her speech, the slides of words means that she sometimes just stomps past her punchlines.

    And one enormously distracting performance issue is the singing of the chapter titles - they are WAY TOO LOUD (hey Audible, I CAN HEAR HER!), and therefore even more annoying. Next time, just say the title normally.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.