You no longer follow Joe

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Joe

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Joe

MARYVILLE, TN, USA

21
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 10 reviews
  • 179 ratings
  • 312 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • 1421: The Year China Discovered America

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Gavin Menzies
    • Narrated By Simon Vance
    Overall
    (124)
    Performance
    (53)
    Story
    (56)

    On March 8, 1421, the largest fleet the world had ever seen set sail from China. When the fleet returned in 1423, the emperor had fallen, leaving China in political and economic chaos. The great ships were abandoned and the records of their journeys destroyed. Lost in China's long, self-imposed isolation that followed was the knowledge that the Chinese had reached America 70 years before Columbus.

    Joe says: "Very provocative"
    "Very provocative"
    Overall

    Some of it may be true

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Thief of Time: Discworld, Book 26

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Terry Pratchett
    • Narrated By Stephen Briggs
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (712)
    Performance
    (460)
    Story
    (463)

    Time is a resource. Everyone knows it has to be managed. And on the Discworld that is the job of the Monks of History, who store it and pump it from the places where it's wasted (like the underwater; how much time does a codfish need?) to places like cities, where there's never enough time.

    Glen Phipps says: "A welcome re-recording."
    "#1 out of 15"
    Overall

    I have heard Stephen Briggs read 14 of Pratchett's books and I liked Thief of Time best. His talent for humor is on full display as he portrays the abbot of a monastery who is a 900 year old monk in a less than 2 year old infant's body. Both ages alternately are heard from the infant with memorable results.
    The monks seem to be created from David Caradine's old Kung Fu TV series and all his Egors seem to be a recreation of Marty Feldman's role in Young Frankenstein. Highly recommended for fans of Pratchett and Briggs.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Carpe Jugulum: Discworld, Book 23

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 48 mins)
    • By Terry Pratchett
    • Narrated By Nigel Planer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (531)
    Performance
    (326)
    Story
    (329)

    Mightily Oats has not picked a good time to be a priest. He thought he'd come to the mountain kingdom of Lancre for a simple little religious ceremony. Now he's caught up in a war between vampires and witches, and he's not sure there is a right side. There are the witches - young Agnes, who is really in two minds about everything, Magrat, who is trying to combine witchcraft and nappies, Nanny Ogg, who is far too knowing . . . and Granny Weatherwax, who is big trouble.

    David says: "laugh til you understand"
    "Where is Stephen Briggs?"
    Overall

    Pratchett is one of a kind. HIs story telling and Brittish wit are second to none. I always enjoy his books but this one is not nearly as interesting as Thief of Time or Nation.

    NIgel Planer is an ok reader but Stephen Briggs is so much better I have a hard time buying the books not read by Briggs. Briggs is an extraordinary talent. He does it so well that I would always rather hear his rendition than read it myself.

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • The Thirteenth Tale: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Diane Setterfield
    • Narrated By Bianca Amato, Jill Tanner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4954)
    Performance
    (1830)
    Story
    (1843)

    All children mythologize their birth... So begins the prologue of reclusive author Vida Winter's beloved collection of stories, long famous for the mystery of the missing thirteenth tale. The enigmatic Winter has always kept her violent and tragic past a secret. Now old and ailing, she summons a biographer to tell the truth about her extraordinary life: Margaret Lea, a young woman for whom the secret of her own birth remains an ever-present pain.

    PA Law says: "Haunting and beautiful tale"
    "Outstanding!"
    Overall

    This author can create atmosphere and characters with the likes of Dickens, Eliot, Hardy, Bronte, Galsworthy and the best of the 19th century English writers. She recreates the wonderful atmosphere of Silas Marner, Return of the Native, the Forsyte Saga and other great English novels but does it with a foot in the 21st century.

    Heartilly recommended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Locked Rooms

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs)
    • By Laurie R. King
    • Narrated By Jenny Sterlin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (748)
    Performance
    (369)
    Story
    (371)

    New York Times best-selling author Laurie R. King has won sweeping critical acclaim and an impressive collection of awards for her writing. Although other writers have tried, no one has matched King's ability to capture the allure of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's legendary sleuth, Sherlock Holmes.

    Melanie says: "Don't miss this jewel!"
    "Not her best"
    Overall

    She does so much better when she stays in England

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Pillars of the Earth

    • UNABRIDGED (40 hrs and 54 mins)
    • By Ken Follett
    • Narrated By John Lee
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (13134)
    Performance
    (5478)
    Story
    (5524)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: Got 40 hours to kill? You’ll find the time when you start listening to Lee’s take on Follett’s epic – and widely celebrated – novel of 12th-century England. The Pillars of the Earth tells the story of Philip, prior of Kingsbridge, a devout and resourceful monk driven to build the greatest Gothic cathedral the world has known...of Tom, the mason who becomes his architect - a man divided in his soul...and of the beautiful, elusive Lady Aliena, haunted by a secret shame....

    CynNC says: "Captivating"
    "Great"
    Overall

    Extremely interesting--great characters

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Mill on the Floss

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By George Eliot
    • Narrated By Nadia May
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (70)
    Performance
    (22)
    Story
    (24)

    Maggie Tulliver, whose father owns a mill perched on the banks of the River Floss, is intelligent and imaginative beyond the understanding of her community, her relatives, and particularly her brother Tom. Despite their opposite temperaments, Maggie and Tom are united by a strong bond. But this bond suffers when Tom's sense of family honor leads him to forbid her to associate with the one friend who appreciates her intelligence and imagination.

    connie says: "not Eliot's best"
    "Not her best"
    Overall

    The worst Eliot novel I have read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Outliers: The Story of Success

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Malcolm Gladwell
    • Narrated By Malcolm Gladwell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (10294)
    Performance
    (4746)
    Story
    (4761)

    In this stunning new book, Malcolm Gladwell takes us on an intellectual journey through the world of "outliers"--the best and the brightest, the most famous and the most successful. He asks the question: what makes high-achievers different? His answer is that we pay too much attention to what successful people are like, and too little attention to where they are from: that is, their culture, their family, their generation, and the idiosyncratic experiences of their upbringing.

    S Prabhu says: "Excellent book; well adapted for the audio format"
    "Ground breaking"
    Overall

    It all makes such sense

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Portrait of a Lady

    • UNABRIDGED (24 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Henry James
    • Narrated By Marvin Kane
    Overall
    (21)
    Performance
    (8)
    Story
    (8)

    The novel tells the story of beautiful, intelligent, and headstrong Isabel Archer, as she leaves her native America and embarks on a journey of self discovery in Europe. Published as a book in 1881, it explores his familiar themes including the conflict between American individualism and European social custom and the situation of Americans in Europe. It also treats in a profound way the themes of personal freedom, responsibility, betrayal, and sexuality.

    judy wiley says: "The worst listen in over 280 audio books!"
    "Tedious"
    Overall

    Like watching paint dry

    1 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • The Woman in White

    • UNABRIDGED (24 hrs and 48 mins)
    • By Wilkie Collins
    • Narrated By Gabriel Woolf
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (133)
    Performance
    (43)
    Story
    (46)

    Late one night, a drawing teacher meets a mysterious woman dressed in white. Who is she, and what is her connection to the teacher's new pupil, a beautiful heiress? Serialized in 1859 - 1860, and first published in book form in 1860 it is still regarded still as one of the best plots in English literature. Told from multiple perspectives, the story is brought to life by its marvellous villains and complex, spirited and believable female characters.

    Joseph R says: "A Book which keeps one guessing --- wrong"
    "Excellent"
    Overall

    Very engaging novel. Written in 1859 it offers interesting insight into 19th century Brittish manners and customs.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.