Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Jennie

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Jennie

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Jennie

I do crossword puzzles in pen.

Herndon, VA, United States | Member Since 2012

1
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 7 reviews
  • 14 ratings
  • 85 titles in library
  • 19 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1914)
    Performance
    (1748)
    Story
    (1762)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "Great Comedic Memoir"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This is one of the best audiobooks I've ever listened too - mainly because Jenny Lawson narrates her story wonderfully.


    Any additional comments?

    This book is great for anyone who has ever been ashamed of, proud of, scared of, or confused by his or her own family.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Buddha in the Attic

    • UNABRIDGED (3 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Julie Otsuka
    • Narrated By Samantha Quan, Carrington MacDuffie
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (128)
    Performance
    (109)
    Story
    (109)

    In eight incantatory sections, The Buddha in the Attic traces the extraordinary lives of young Japanese brides, from their arduous journey by boat, where they exchange photographs of their husbands, imagining uncertain futures in an unknown land; to their arrival in San Francisco and their tremulous first nights as new wives; to their backbreaking work picking fruit in the fields and scrubbing the floors of white women; to their struggles to master a new language and a new culture; to their experiences in childbirth, and then as mothers....

    Lydia says: "Fascinating topic, irritating writing style"
    "A New View of WWII"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about The Buddha in the Attic?

    As a reader of historical fiction, I've read a lot of WWII fiction, but "The Buddha in the Attic" gave a viewpoint I've never read: The story of Japanese women in America just before and during WWII. A great read for anyone interested in the time period.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    One of the best things about "The Buddha in the Attic" was that there were really no specific characters. The entire book was told in first/third person plural, everything was "We..." or "One of us..." or "The children..." or "The husbands..." It took a while to get used to, but it was an interesting viewpoint.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 25 mins)
    • By Joshilyn Jackson
    • Narrated By Joshilyn Jackson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1415)
    Performance
    (1220)
    Story
    (1196)

    A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty is a powerful saga of three generations of women, plagued by hardships and torn by a devastating secret, yet inextricably joined by the bonds of family. Fifteen-year-old Mosey Slocumb-spirited, sassy, and on the cusp of womanhood-is shaken when a small grave is unearthed in the backyard, and determined to figure out why it's there. Liza, her stroke-ravaged mother, is haunted by choices she made as a teenager. But it is Jenny, Mosey's strong and big-hearted grandmother....

    Janice says: "I wanted to cheer out loud!"
    "Not Your Average Beach Read"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty?

    The story managed to surprise me a few times, which is always nice in today's fiction.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I loved that each of the three main characters: Mosey, Liza, and Ginny (or Big) had their own way of talking - varrying from a well-behaved, but typical teenager, to a young woman who never had time to grow up, to the caretaker of them all who isn't ready to be a "MeMaw."


    Which scene was your favorite?

    I liked forward which was told before the chronological story began. It didn't give away anything, but guided the reader/listener through the story.


    Any additional comments?

    I really liked that this book dealt with taboo subjects (drugs, poverty, religion, teen pregnancy) in ways that didn't demonize all of the characters affected.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Age of Miracles: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 3 mins)
    • By Karen Thompson Walker
    • Narrated By Emily Janice Card
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (465)
    Performance
    (410)
    Story
    (408)

    On a seemingly ordinary Saturday in a California suburb, Julia and her family awake to discover, along with the rest of the world, that the rotation of the earth has suddenly begun to slow. The days and nights grow longer and longer, gravity is affected, the environment is thrown into disarray. Yet as she struggles to navigate an ever-shifting landscape, Julia is also coping with the normal disasters of everyday life.

    Karen says: "Not sure I can measure up..."
    "Not Your Standard Young Adult Book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    When I chose The Age of Miracles, I had no idea that it was (a) a very newly released novel, (b) on the New York Times Best Seller List, or (c) that it was a young adult novel. As an avid reader of YAL (young adult literature) this didn't bother me, but it should be known. It was an interesting novel from the viewpoint of a young girl that has to deal with much more than the average teen of today. The novel doesn't have the happy ending you hope for the narrator, but it's made clear she's not done living yet.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Will Grayson, Will Grayson

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By John Green, David Levithan
    • Narrated By MacLeod Andrews, Nick Podehl
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1100)
    Performance
    (886)
    Story
    (895)

    One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

    FanB14 says: "Another John Green Hit"
    "Great for Teens - Not the Best for Adults"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What was one of the most memorable moments of Will Grayson, Will Grayson?

    The performance of Will Grayson, Will Grayson was spectular. The book was written by two different authors from the viewpoints of two different Will Graysons and also narrated by two different actors - each with his own way of portraying the worlds of the WIll Graysons.


    Any additional comments?

    As an avid reader of young adult literature (YAL) and someone who has studied YAL at an academic level, I found this book to be good, even great, for teens but not the best for adults. While the novel delved into some very real issues (the treament of young gay teens), it dealt with a lot of very teen-level issues (popularity, finding a girlfriend/boyfriend, getting a fake ID, etc.) as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Kitchen House: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Kathleen Grissom
    • Narrated By Orlagh Cassidy, Bahni Turpin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (6905)
    Performance
    (4871)
    Story
    (4859)

    Orphaned while onboard ship from Ireland, seven-year-old Lavinia arrives on the steps of a tobacco plantation where she is to live and work with the slaves of the kitchen house. Under the care of Belle, the master's illegitimate daughter, Lavinia becomes deeply bonded to her adopted family, though she is set apart from them by her white skin. Eventually, Lavinia is accepted into the world of the big house, where the master is absent and the mistress battles opium addiction.

    B.J. says: "Good, but with reservations"
    "A Tale of Two Women"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does The Kitchen House rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The Kitchen House made a great audio book because it was dually narrated. In the book, two characters (a young slave woman, Belle, and the 7-year-old Irish indentured servant girl she is put in charge of, Lavinia), and two different women narrate their respective characters in the audio book. However, both women have great voice acting capabilities and the characters in the book all have their own distinct voices. Though there is a prologue which appears to tell sthe whole story, it goes much deeper.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Never Let Me Go

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Kazuo Ishiguro
    • Narrated By Rosalyn Landor
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1729)
    Performance
    (553)
    Story
    (557)

    From the Booker Prize-winning author of The Remains of the Day and When We Were Orphans, comes an unforgettable edge-of-your-seat mystery that is at once heartbreakingly tender and morally courageous about what it means to be human.

    Christopher says: "Moving, haunting, but slow developing"
    "Good Story; Makes You Think"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I would reccommend this to a friend. It's a good book to think about; easy to read, but not an easy read.


    What other book might you compare Never Let Me Go to and why?

    This book is somewhere between Chick Lit and Futuristic Dystopia.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.