You no longer follow Daniel

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Daniel

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Daniel

FairfieldUS Minor Outlying Islands | Member Since 2004

41
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 12 reviews
  • 32 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 8 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Sticks and Stones

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Madeleine Urban, Abigail Roux
    • Narrated By Sawyer Allerde
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (382)
    Performance
    (300)
    Story
    (302)

    Six months after nearly losing their lives to a serial killer in New York City, FBI Special Agents Ty Grady and Zane Garrett are suffering through something almost as frightening: the monotony of desk duty. When they're ordered to take a vacation for the good of everyone's sanity, Ty bites the bullet and takes Zane home with him to West Virginia, hoping the peace and quiet of the mountains will give them the chance to explore the explosive attraction they’ve so far been unable to reconcile with their professional partnership.

    Donald says: "A Great Sequel..."
    "Perhaps the worst book ever written"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Not ending every sentence with an unnecessary adverb


    Has Sticks and Stones turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Sawyer Allerde’s performances?

    Yes.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Sticks and Stones?

    Having every sentence start with the name of a character and every sentence ending with an adverb.


    Any additional comments?

    Hard to believe this ever got published.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Supreme Justice: A Novel of Suspense

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Phillip Margolin
    • Narrated By Jonathan Davis
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (144)
    Performance
    (65)
    Story
    (66)

    New York Times best-selling author Phillip Margolin returns to the corridors of power in Washington, D.C., with an exciting thriller about a ghost ship and the President's nominee to the U.S. Supreme Court. Sarah Woodruff, on death row in Oregon for murdering her lover, John Finley, has appealed her case to the Supreme Court just when a prominent justice resigns, leaving a vacancy.

    Daniel says: "Good but..."
    "Good but..."
    Overall

    For the first third of this book, I thought I'd really found something special. but then the "implausibles" began to build up: whole ships disappearing, people up to no good freely left to wander around a supreme court justice's office,and an attack on a justice inside the supreme court itself. Please... But when the initial hero of the book, a gritty cop, just gets blown away and disappears from further consideration, I lost interest. If people have to die in the story, I at least want the author to have some emotion about them.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Diamond Dust

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 31 mins)
    • By Peter Lovesey
    • Narrated By Steve Hodson
    Overall
    (74)
    Performance
    (24)
    Story
    (25)

    Detective Inspector Peter Diamond is keen to get his teeth into a new case. So, when a call comes in that a woman's body has been found in one of Bath's parks, he arrives quickly at the scene - only to discover that the victim is his wife.

    Victoria says: "A lovely read"
    "I like this author"
    Overall

    Good. You'll guess it by the end but that's okay.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • The Chippendale Factor

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 42 mins)
    • By John Malcolm
    • Narrated By Gordon Griffin
    Overall
    (8)
    Performance
    (2)
    Story
    (2)

    Justin Harrington, controversial TV presenter of a popular antiques show, is found dead in his car in Yorkshire - in suspicious circumstances. His school friend, and fellow antiques dealer, Bill Franklin is bemused by Harrington's death, wondering if his shady past is to blame. But when another mutual friend, also in the business, is shot dead by hired assassins, Bill finds himself caught up in a mystery in which he is the prime suspect.

    Cari says: "confusing"
    "Smashing book"
    Overall

    Finally, a sophisticated mystery set in England with a little intrigue, a little sex and some relevant history. I enjoyed it immensely.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Dark Tide

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 48 mins)
    • By Andrew Gross
    • Narrated By Melissa Leo
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (242)
    Performance
    (27)
    Story
    (29)

    An explosion rips through New York City's Grand Central Station one morning, destroying the train Karen Friedman's husband, a successful hedge-fund manager, is riding in to work. On that same day, a suspicious hit-and-run accident leaves a young man dead in Karen's hometown of Greenwich, Connecticut. Ty Hauck, a detective, becomes emotionally caught up in the case and finds a clue that shockingly connects the two seemingly unrelated events.

    S. Johnston says: "wince...wince"
    "The Perfect Storm"
    Overall

    This book is the perfect storm of a bad book and a terrible narrator (that quavering voice gives me nightmares). I am looking forward to the glad day when the whole dog's breakfast will be over and the silly, dopey -- and whiney, oh can she whine -- Karen will be no more. Since I work in Old Greenwich, if I could find her, I'd do her in myself.

    For Gross, no idea or emotion can be offered up once but repeated and repeated until the poor listener is almost driven mad. Add that to the fact that about every 6th page someone's heart is almost stopped, or pounding or given to some other malady because of shock and you get the idea.

    I have so come to hate most of the characters that the only thing that keeps me going is the hope that the villians will succeed and the main characters will get their throats deservedly slit. That's unlikely though. That would require some sort of plotting where you cannot see what's coming at least 100 pages ahead.

    Save your credits. Go try Donna Leon or someone.

    Awful.

    15 of 17 people found this review helpful
  • Dark Harbor

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By David Hosp
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    Overall
    (485)
    Performance
    (219)
    Story
    (219)

    From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

    Vincent says: "Can't Put it Down!"
    "Can anyone write an ending?"
    Overall

    This is not a bad book for a while. It has some clunky writing (like the detectives ham fisted handling of the case and her irrational suspicion of the main character) but the big problem comes at the end. Note to authors: pitched gun battles in mythical fortresses might have been fine for 1940s comics but they are not a satisfactory ending for modern readers. Incredibly disappointing ending but it takes several hours to get to it.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • The Appeal

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 33 mins)
    • By John Grisham
    • Narrated By Michael Beck
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2005)
    Performance
    (414)
    Story
    (420)

    In a crowded courtroom in Mississippi, a jury returns a shocking verdict against a chemical company accused of dumping toxic waste into a small town's water supply, causing the worst "cancer cluster" in history. The company appeals to the Mississippi Supreme Court, whose nine justices will one day either approve the verdict or reverse it.

    teresa says: "no wonder it was on sale"
    "Cracker jack"
    Overall

    Grisham does it again. Complex and twisting, it will carry you along. But watch out for that ending. Perhaps another chapter or six would have been too predictable for him, but darn it...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Man in the Middle

    • UNABRIDGED (17 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Brian Haig
    • Narrated By LJ Ganser
    Overall
    (250)
    Performance
    (83)
    Story
    (81)

    Ripped from today's headlines, Brian Haig's new novel finds Army lawyer Sean Drummond caught between duty to Washington's elite and the soldiers in Iraq. Dispatched to investigate the suicide of one of D.C.'s most influential defense officials, an ardent, early supporter of the war in Iraq, Drummond and his female partner find themselves in the middle of a tug-of-war between Washington's most influential power brokers and his own personal allegiance to the soldiers dying overseas.

    Sherri says: "Where is Scott Brick?"
    "liebackand"
    Overall

    Unsympathetic characters engage in wooden dialogue that would make Jack Webb blush. Heavy handed prose and a story that drags as if through mud. Unreadable.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • By the Light of the Moon

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 4 mins)
    • By Dean Koontz
    • Narrated By Stephen Lang
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (902)
    Performance
    (392)
    Story
    (403)

    Dylan O'Connor, a gifted young artist, is attacked by a mysterious "doctor" and injected with a strange substance. He is told that he is now a carrier of something that will either kill him...or transform his life. Then he is told that he must flee before the doctor's enemies hunt him down. Stunned, disbelieving, Dylan is turned loose to run for his life - and straight into an adventure that will turn the next 24 hours into an odyssey of terror, mystery, and wondrous discovery.

    Mary S. Murray says: "Superb"
    "Unless you want to..."
    Overall

    Unless you have recently been released from an insane asylum and have an overwhelming urge to return there, don't bother with this book. I have like other of Koontz's books but this is too weird by a mile. And tedious to boot.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Last Refuge

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs)
    • By Chris Knopf
    • Narrated By Stefan Rudnicki
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (156)
    Performance
    (92)
    Story
    (90)

    Sam Acquillo is at the end of the line: he's a middle-aged corporate dropout living in a ramshackle cottage in Southampton's North Sea. But then the old lady next door ends up floating dead in her bathtub, and it seems that Sam is the only one who wonders why.

    Daniel says: "A good read (listen)"
    "A good read (listen)"
    Overall

    This is an engaging book. Though I don't usually go for books about contrary "dropouts" this one is told with good humor mixed in with a little self doubt and romance to keep it interesting. It's not hard to guess the whodunit part, but I found it a good companion nevertheless.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.